Starting a New Corporate Job

in #lifelast month

I have been a bit quiet on HIVE recently, and for good reason. There is a bit going on in my Meatspace at the moment so I haven’t really had the time to push out any posts to let people know what I am up to. Today is just a quick one to let those who still read my blog know that I’ve started a new job. I’m not super happy about it, but it is what it is…


Image Generated by AI

Over the last couple of years I’ve been selling a lot of my Crypto to pay for my families new home and then subsequently fund the lifestyles that we’ve all become accustomed to. There’s nothing too outrageous there, but with cost of living pressures here in Australia it isn’t getting any easier to stay on top of the bills and I am sick of selling off my Crypto to pay them. I want to be buying Crypto instead but I don’t have the Cashflow. Hopefully this new job will fix that little problem...

It’s a Work-From-Home gig, which is good since I moved out of the city years ago. The pay is fairly decent and the hours are flexible so that’s a bonus too...however, it is back in the Corporate Development space working for "The Man" whom I thought I’d left behind years ago. The Technology Stack being used I haven’t really worked on for 9+ years and things move pretty fast in the technology space so my skills and experience are a bit out of date.

That means I need some Runway to get up to speed, but the project I’ve been airdropped into has a hard deadline looming and the Tech Lead is going on holiday in a week for the final stretch of the project (Yes, this is a red flag). The stakes are kind of high, so this project could easily go pear-shaped and I have been wondering if I might have just jumped into the fire here. Time will tell, but I'm unlikely to be a happy camper in the short term.

As for HIVE I am still invested here and will be trying to stay on top of developments and also support the services I’ve been running. I just might need to slink back into the background for a bit while I get re-adjusted.

Sort:  

Oh man the throes of corporate life give me flashbacks!

I too moved out of the big city up here in Canada for a more simple life where I could be with the kids as they grow up and not have to race like a rat. It does things to cashflow for sure and I regret not having the disposable income (is that even a thing anymore?!) to add to my crypto stake over those years. I am loath to sell the little I have amassed as it almost feels like selling back a lottery ticket or cashing in an RRSP.

Either way, if it was easy and fun, they would not pay you to do it. Being tossed back into the corporate frying pan can be simplified into doing what it takes to make that next paycheque come in, because that will solve many other problems and maintain that lifestyle.

No idea why I haven't met you over my years on the blockchain but better late than never! We will keep the lights on while you are working hard and welcome you back when you visit. If you develop a short post game like this one, you should be able to stay engaged and share the adventure you are on now quite manageably.

Well met and congrats on the new gig!

I understand you, I have been doing an office job during the morning for 6 years that I would love to leave but family, my daughter's studies and bills take priority and require adaptation and sacrifice....turning to do a job out of necessity and not by choice is never easy especially if it has been 9 years...I wish you the best in your new work adventure

I can only imagine how difficult that must have been to get back into the corporate world after a long break ;)

I've mostly witnessed first hand from my boyfriend working from home for corporate what type of shitshow that could be and I'm very grateful he did that so I didn't have to.

For now, I hope the red flag just means there's opportunity for you to grow instead of everything collapsing..

Good luck!

I hope it works well for you. Maybe this could be an opportunity to showcase your skills and the Tech Lead can't take credit, since they're out of the picture.

I'm sure you'll do awesome!

!BBH

@bulliontool, sorry! You need more $BBH to use this command.

The minimum requirement is 1000.0 BBH balance.

More $BBH is available from Hive-Engine or Tribaldex

It really sucks working for "The Man".... You do what you have to in order to survive in this life. And this way you don't have to sell off the crypto! Pretty cool that it's work from home with flexible hours though, that's hard to find anymore.

Sounds a bit rough and all you can do is your best so good luck anyway.

Congrats on the new job! I wish you the best of luck! I hope things settle down for you soon too!

Congratulations on your new job. I hope that the reasons you decided to take this step manifests in your crypto portfolio. In a few years, I hope you'll have a stack enough to say bye bye to corporate jobs forever as you don't like it at all. All the best

It’s a Work-From-Home gig, which is good since I moved out of the city years ago

remote working is good and convenient. As you moved out of the city, you don't like city life?

DO you still have a suit?

Spend 35 years in corporate headoffices but that was enough!

I hope things work out for you @buggedout , cubical work isn't your preferred career even when it's in your own home. 💛

Congrats..even if you d prefer not to work there lol. Good luck 🤞

!DHEDGE

Good luck brother. Hope all goes well for you.👍

Best of luck with the project. Hard to get back into the swing of things being out of the game for so many years.

It's incredible that crypto funded your lifestyle for several years. That's something to aspire towards for me in the coming years.

Hope so you will fixed your problems and can save crypto rather then selling them . At this time You should by more.

In the same way, the situation in every country is going on in the same way, even though they are doing jobs due to inflation, here in our city, people are not living a good life because their salary is only 100 dollars a month. Life can never be good, so if you want to live a good life, it is necessary to have three or four incomes.

I’m happy that it is a work from home gig so you won’t have to bother about transportation cost and so many thing
You can do it at your comfort zone and even include other things
I wish you well