My stressful job as a supervisor in a call center

in #life7 years ago

There are callers waiting! Why are you not on the phone? Why are you more than 3 minutes on the phone? Pick calls up within 20 seconds! Mind the Service Level! Your break was too long! Why didn't you thank the customer for calling? Oh and yeah, we also have a backlog on emails…

call center.png

I work in a call center as a supervisor. That environment is high maintenance always.

It seems like the results are never good enough. Either the management says to push the agents to work harder, or the agents are complaining they can't breathe in between calls. Or both.
My job as a supervisor is to get results, while keeping the agents happy. When I was in training for this function, the trainers told us that supervisor is the shittiest job you can have in this company. I now see why. Especially when you feel as responsible for your team and their results as I do.

I've been in this position for 7 months now. For the last 3 weeks I've had headaches or even migraines almost every day. The stress will take up all my energy, so I won't work out or won't take time to cook a proper meal. On my days off I prefer to stay in bed, and won't go outside if I don't have to.

This is when I told my manager that I need some time off. To rest, find new energy, and think about what I want in life. Yes, this job looks good on my CV, but is this really worth it? I want to be happy again, just as when I first moved to Lisbon!

So, now what..? Do I suck it up and start caring less? Will it get better in a few months? Should I wait for that? Do I want to wait for that? Can I even do that with my personality? Or could it really be just as simple as Frozen's "Let it go!"?

open-uri20150422-20810-1qndm4b_d92feee8.jpeg

Should I apply for another job? Am I seeing this way to black & white again (I intend to do that)?
Or… Do I quit and start working for myself? Am I willing to take the risk of no stable income? Won't it be just as stressful to work freelance? Especially for the perfectionist and control freak that I am?

Decisions, decisions…

Sigh... Sometimes I wish I lived in another time. Just my parents saying, you will get married to that guy, now go be a good wife. But then again, sometimes I really don't :-)

Sort:  

Start your own business! Someone as dedicated and perfectionist as you, will succeed! Go for it and find your joy again!

You're the sweetest!

Thank you! You too! :)

Hope everything will turn out to be for the better though you may face some difficulties now.

It always will in the end! And if not, it's not the end just yet :-)