[Habits][Day 6] An End to Chapter Two!

in #life6 years ago

"He whose life has a why can bear almost any how" - Friedrich Nietzsche

Slow. Lazy. Day.


Today was not productive at all. In fact, this week has been so busy that I haven't talked to my friends hiding in my numerous discord servers.

So what did I do?

I spent all day finishing off American Horror Story: Hotel and now I have just started American Horror Story: Coven.

That's a strike against my record. I read the first few pages today whilst on rabb.it with friends, listening to 90s music and admiring the aesthetics that came with the music videos of that time. 

A little bit of admiring, a little bit of mocking. It's amazing how it all deteriorates after a few years, but it will always be here on the internet to find.

A nice sense of nostalgia (Hah! Coming from this young kid -).

I didn't focus properly. The words were there, I read it in my mind, but it wasn't processed.

Pah.

Although during my Netflix binge I did write out a few ideas for a post - if only that would come to fruition. 

It's like having the bones but with no meat. 

It seems like I'll have to do one of the common tricks of the trade.

Stats 


Habit: Reading

Date: 10/02/2018

Currently Reading: 12 Rules for Life: An Antidote to Chaos

Previously Read: N/A

Pages Read Today (Minimum 10): 10


The Book Of The Day

source

...Do I have to repeat it? Jordan B. Peterson's '12 Rules For Life: An Antidote to Chaos'!

Today's post will only be an extension of what has already been said in yesterday's post, as well as the answer as to how one would treat themselves like someone they are responsible for helping.

I thought it was a little bit weird - the title of the chapter - at face value, but the answer was something I wasn't expecting. 

Which is surprising, because I should have thought of it.

Rule 2: Treat Yourself Like Someone You Are Responsible For Helping 

A spark of the divine.


What makes us doubt our own self-worth?

"If we wish to take care of ourselves properly, we would have to respect ourselves - but we don't, because we are - not least in our own eyes - fallen creatures."

It seems to be in this day and age that a person falls on either end of the spectrum - wholly narcissistic or self-conscious and shamed to the core. 

It is either you value yourself or you don't.

And it is hard to reach that fine line of the in-between.

"It seems that people often don't really believe that they deserve the best care, personally speaking. [...] They believe that other people shouldn't suffer, and they will work diligently and altruistically to help them alleviate it."

One should never let themselves walk behind another. If one wants to have a strong relationship, then both parties should be on equal footing. 

By stepping behind you are letting yourself be vulnerable for no reason, giving your companion the opportunity to become a tyrant and take advantage.

Have a firm grasp of your personality, your principles, your rules. Form an opinion, don't concede the moment someone says you're wrong.

It's the feeling I get from this book, although all that has been going on is some shallow reading on my end. 

I'll have to read this book more than once - you always catch something new with every reread.

"You are not simply your own possession to torture and mistreat. This is partly because your Being is inexorably tied up with that of others, and your mistreatment of yourself can have catastrophic consequences for others."

Case in point: Falling deeper into an addiction.

"Some people degenerate into the hell of resentment and this hatred of Being, but most refuse to do so, despite their suffering and disappointments and losses and inadequacies and ugliness, and again that is a miracle for those with the eyes to see it."

You do not need something flashy to see the power of perseverance through Chaos. 

Life throws at you many reasons as to why you should fall, but as stated, the strength to keep on going is a miracle for those with the eyes to see it.

No problem should be dismissed and considered minuscule, especially when it involves your own well being. 

You, as a person, deserve to improve yourself and let yourself have a better future.

"Hatred for self and mankind must be balanced with gratefulness for tradition and the state and astonishment at what normal, everyday people accomplish - to say nothing of the staggering achievements of the truly remarkable."

It is bittersweet, in a sense, if you think about your parents and all that they have done for you.

As you grow older and look at the backs of your mother and father, you realize they have grown smaller, or perhaps their backs are more hunched over.

It seems like it was only yesterday when they could pick you up and throw you over their shoulders. 

Upon recollection you may see that all they have sacrificed for you is truly remarkable.

"To treat yourself as if you were someone you are responsible for helping is, instead, to consider what would be truly good for you."

It is not what makes you feel good, it is what is needed to be your highest quality of Being. 

It is like choosing between an hour of playing video games versus 10 minutes of meditation and boring house work.

"You must help a child become a virtuous, responsible, awake being, capable of [...] Why would you think it acceptable to do anything less for yourself?"

What would your life look like if you were caring for yourself? If you took the time to carve yourself a rough path so you know which direction you're going?

Set aside some time to reorganise your thoughts and get an idea of it all.

I was going to do it today via Peterson's 'self authoring' program, however the website was down...

When I get to doing it i'll definitely make a post!

Write It All Down


I remember when I was in primary school I went to see a psychologist and she suggested to spend 30 minutes every day writing down in my journal to clear my head.

It was safe to say I didn't do it. I was 12 at the time - no one held me to it.

Perhaps it would have made an impact, considering I know the effects it has.

Even if it's something you write out, pick up, crush and then throw away.

It is like shoving the thought out of your head and banishing it for a certain amount of time.

But anyway,

Thanks for joining this ride! I hope you’ve enjoyed it thus far. 

Tell me what you think of the book at its current stage! What are your thoughts on the quotes given and questions raised?

And don’t forget to follow if you’d like to see more updates and thoughts from me,

C8!

Feel free to check out my last post! Click here!