Healing, Learning, Growing, Smiling...

in #life7 years ago (edited)

It’s no secret to anyone who has read my posts that I’ve been down in the dumps. I’ve been that way for me for a very long time, but I try to shield my family from it – especially my son. I think my dad is on to me, but that’s a whole other story.

The feeling of treading water for months, years on end brings about a sort of numbness to my life that is indescribable. Even the word numb doesn’t do it justice.

Me and the rest of the world, right? Are we all miserable? Can we turn our backs on the misery as a group and siphon out the joy we all possess within to sprinkle onto each other in our weak moments? That’s what I feel happened on my previous post.

hand-1549399_1920.jpg

Photo source: pixabay.com

Here on Steemit, I don’t have to pretend about anything. After knowing that it’s okay to express myself and expose my weaknesses in an environment that won’t belittle me, I find that the friends I’m looking for just show up… It was so refreshing that in my last post, you showed up in droves with real comments containing real insights. To put it mildly, all of you moved me with your comments. It wasn’t the typical “nice post, follow me and upvote my post” comments – and certainly not the guy that keeps spewing his hateful racist comments all over many posts I’ve read recently. I truly believe that good prevails.

Anyway, it’s liberating and healing to be here; it’s an absolute pleasure. This healing miracle is slowly starting to carry over into my cynical, offline self. I find that it’s easier for me to smile lately; I’m happier. I thought I’d lost faith in humanity, especially when I hang out around my neighborhood in Los Angeles, but I’ve been in a different frame of mind lately and I’m starting to witness some good.

What do I mean starting to witness some good?

Everything in Los Angeles seems to happen while driving because everyone is always stuck in traffic. Just the other day, while waiting at a stoplight, I looked to my right where I frequently see the same homeless woman sitting on the sidewalk with all her bags, bundled up in a winter coat regardless of the outside temperature. It appears to me that she is waiting to die. I mean, technically we all are, but in her case, literally.

los-angeles-676249_1920.jpg

Photo source: pixabay.com

At the exact moment, a teenager on a bicycle stopped in front of her, pulled a box of food out of his bag, and handed it to her. The smile on her face was more than a smile. She was speechless and clearly moved by his kindness; I think I saw tears in her eyes. It takes a village to take care of each other and that kid reminded me of that fact.

At another stoplight on a different day last week, a little old Japanese lady (probably in her 70s) was skateboarding across the crosswalk while holding an umbrella to block the sun. Yes, she was skateboarding… You read that correctly. It was the most adorable thing I’ve seen in a long time. Not to mention that she is so much more coordinated than I could ever dream to be...!

cat-1022999_1920.jpg

Photo source: pixabay.com

You see, if we open our eyes, there are opportunities to learn, grow, and smile all around us – even in the harshest of environments like Los Angeles. And we don't even need to be lucky enough to witness an old lady skateboarding! There are plenty of opportunities everywhere!

I’ve been so busy feeling bad for myself lately that I have failed to seize all the opportunities I can to learn, grow, and smile, but that stops now. I don't need to escape my reality...I need to become one with it and enjoy the little things.

Maybe open your eyes today, too, and take a good look around. :)

Sort:  

It's like you were able to wear a new pair of glasses after being on steemit. Your lenses have changed and now you can see positivity clearly around you! That's awesome :-). I'm very happy for you and I will be wishing that you find more positivity and encouragement in your day!

I live in Los Angeles too, and the things you describe are the types of things I have seen here also. They are the moments that make this city amazing. Just when it feels so broken, the city shows us its magic!

I couldn't have said it better myself...

Whereabouts in LA are you btw?

West side, Santa Monica. How about you?

South bay, Redondo Beach/Torrance area

You think Pink Deer is happy with it's place in life?!
Being a stupid plastic head, painted pink!
It has no legs! Or arms! Or even body!
But look how shiny the Pink Deer is, specially for YOU

this picture never was and never will be posted somewhere else, only here, only for YOU

@stuffy! You have brought me to tears!!! Thank you!

Pink Deer is so wise and such an inspiration.

you see? even stupid plastic head can do miracles!

Life is too short for not making fun of it =)
Whatever that means =)))

Hey! Life's great!
You ever heard about Hunter Thompson?

No, but he looks like my kind of guy considering that he lived in Colorado (according to Wikipedia).

Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas?
This is his actual life shown there
That guy was the craziest guy ever.
Well, read about his funeral =)))

This?
"On August 20, 2005, in a private funeral, Thompson's ashes were fired from a cannon."
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hunter_S._Thompson#Funeral

oh yeah!
that's The Guy!

this song should make you smile

You are summoning the @onlymanamana bot... :)))

The good thing is that in here you will always find inconditional friends who don't care about what you have or don't, just you. Very deep writing.

Oh, my dear. We all sometimes go there - life has a lot and sometimes we just concentrate on something so deep that we truly forget of the world around us. The same time I think the period you are going through it is extremely important so please do not underestimate it. I believe everything in life is like a circle - growth-prosper-going down-the very down -growth... I think you are just in the beginning of the next cycle so just be in the process%) leave some time for you to live with this "a sort of numbness" and when the time is right it will pass opening new horizons for you. And who knows maybe it will be not a Cali but the other girl%)) Many blessings to you, a lovely soul!
lotus-1205631_640.jpg

I do believe you are right... :) Thank you.

Always welcome, dear! I know it is hard and sometimes it seems no end, but it will be one day%) If you can share it with someone who you trust - I do not know you but for me it always helps if i can speak to someone - not for the sake of getting help but just the processes of speaking it out seems to help me to go through! Try to be you whatever you face! I am sending you much love from here!🌸♥️🌸

I'm glad you smile more these days @cali-girl.

Glad your expressing yourself. Soon you'll be feeling better too :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by cali-girl from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

@cali-girl Good blog, Subscribed. Maybe you will be interested in my post about 7 Simple Ways to Feel Luxuriously

the real meaning of life....following

Old lady skateboarding..? Yunk.

giphy (4).gif

Yeah. She was some serious Yunk Material.