Movie Review(Black Panther)

in #life6 years ago (edited)

So last week, my colleagues and i went to see the movie "BLACK PANTHER". I had heard so much about it, all the internet and social media hype about it. So I decided I needed to see this movie.

unnamed (1).jpg
Credit

Well I did and I'm gonna say a few things that intrigued me about this movie.
First, I loved how the movie began. It didn't have the whole studio introductions like the normal Hollywood movies have. It went straight to the story line.

images (4).jpeg
Credit

Also, the intro-story, was very captivating. It spurred up my curiosity and I'm sure it's same for other viewers. The graphics was amazing! I really loved the 'hand-holding' part at that intro-story.

I also got excited when I saw a scene from my Nigeria! Yes, they added a scene from our famous Sambisa forest and the chibok girls story. They even spoke Hausa language!

images (5).jpeg
Credit

I love the fact that a Hollywood movie would be characterised by blacks majorly. And that the rich African culture of coronation and ancestry, was displayed. I admired the Wakanda ritual of coronation, the way everyone heaved their chest whenever vibranium is given to someone to drink, the burial kinda ritual where you get to see your father and so many other ritual depicted in the movie. Actually, most of this ritual traditions are still carried out, in real time, till today.

images (6).jpeg
Credit

As much as the movie is said to be action packed, it has quite a number of hilarious scenes in it. First was where the king was told by his chief of arms not to freeze when he meets his love ( Lupita Nyong'o) and he claimed he wouldn't, but he did! As soon as he saw her, he stood like a statue and kept staring at her.

images (7).jpeg
Credit

The princess in the movie, is also a funny person too. I like the way she taunts her brother always. Another part of the movie that really got me reeling with laughter was, where the head of the gorilla clan interrupted the king of wakanda and his family with "Are you finished?"

images (9).jpeg
Credit

To me, the lessons learnt from this movie are, first, no man is totally good and totally bad. Even the one that was seen as the best (the king's father) had his own flaws. The villian king (Micheal B. Jordan) also had a good side and he wasn't totally bad.

images (10).jpeg
Credit
Also, the status quo can always be changed, if you see that the change will benefit many. Sometimes, following age-long traditions may not be needful in a modern era.
Don't be afraid to stand up for what you believe in.

images (11).jpeg
Credit

The actors in the movie did a very wonderful job and the script was interesting too. Kudos to all of them for making Africa proud!

By the way, don't forget to join our steemit school discord family. Just click here to join.

https://discord.gg/2h6eMC. We win together!!!

Sort:  

Impressive review @camilus

I agree that Hollywood needs to up their numbers in black but also other-colored ethnicities. I am a white male living in South Africa and I have firsthand seen the effects of prejudice and discrimination. We are 23 years into democracy and still haven't healed from it.

But I cannot agree with ancestral worship. I do not know if you were meaning it like that. I have also seen firsthand the negative effects that can have on families and especially the young. We need to liberate people from traditional rituals and educate them into self sustainment

I didn't mean ancestral worship. I meant a display of the African tradition.

Thank you for clarifying :)

I too have a respect for culture

This post has received a 17.33% upvote from @aksdwi thanks to: @camilus.

You got a 13.33% upvote from @ipromote courtesy of @camilus!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

You got a 1.01% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @camilus!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

This post has received gratitude of 1.96% from @appreciator courtesy of @camilus!

nice movi...Thank for your sharing...news

You're welcome!

Nice discretion,,,, I will be watching this movie,,, you upvote to me ,,,,

This movie really gave Joy, would want to see a million times if possible

Yes.. that's same for me.! I'm taking a friend there to see it also

Postingan yang bagus ..salam sukses sobat steemian 😊😊

Good review!!!
멋진 리뷰입니다!!!

Thank you

this is good film

Interesting!!!

Going to see it tomorrow...cant wait !!

I love the fact the culture of africa was displayed in the movie i love the scene where they show the chibok girls wearing hijab and somewhere i had someone spoken my language HAUSA i was really proud.
It shows how powerful we are how rich we are interms of natural resources and it also shows the equality the relationship that we are one and we will always be.

I love the fact that Nigeria was also represented in the movie!

Not in my wildest dreams did I think that this movie would blast off like this and solidify itself as a cultural iconic movement. If they use Namor as the villian in the sequel... it could be better than the 1st!!

Bereh cit flm nyan