You have to be proud to procrastinate

in #life6 years ago (edited)

For this new post, I decided, because I don’t want to work on my many boring projects (it’s the proof of my legendarly procrastinating), to write a post on my main default (the procrastinating) and proof you that it’s good to procrastinate, that it’s good for my well-being. And maybe, I can help you to live well your procrastination.


#Why we want to procrastinate ?#

  • The mobile phone, the e-mails, the calls

In a society where we are all hyper connect, it’s very difficult to concentrate yourself on a project without exterior entertainment. You can miss this call very important, the little light of your mobile phone signal you that you have a new notification, an e-mail which emerge on you screen … everything is good to distract us.

I have already worked in a company where, if you didn’t reply in the hour, you took the risk you make you to scream. My boss was thinking : It’s not really important that you need concentration, you have to distract you, and to re-concentrate you quickly. This need of quikly answer was, for me, very improductive. Usually, when I was replying to this urgently ask, it was impossible for me to re-concentrate me. So I was working on a other project, it was more pleasure for me. I have a temper rebellios and I ‘m not affraid about the reproch, I was thinking : « It’s you fault boss » !

  • I am not motivate to do the most boring tasks

All the people (except the most courageous people) do that. We do the tasks which are for us, most pleasants, before the tasks which are most boring (whereas all the advices preconize you to do the tasks which are most boring before the other).

Why ? Because the most difficult, for the boring tasks, it’s to act. When the action is in progress, we feel guilty to haven’t realize this action earlier. So, we are goodwill worker and we promise himself do not start again. But two day later, we start again with this same feeling of guilty.

Procrastination english.png

#The benefict effect of the procrastination#

I am a dreamer, I like to do « to do lists », I like to do « to do lists of to do lists » ; by doing this, I succeed to transform this default in a real quality, this quality pushed me to action.

How ?

- I stopped feeling guilty

I read a book of John Perry called « The art of procrastination ».
I have learned that, the acceptation of myself and the acceptation of my default, was the first step toward changed. I was affirming myself as a procratinator and I have learning I wasn’t alone in this fight. This book helped me with a sentence : You have something else to do than to fight against this default ». Yes it’s true, before I will start again my work, I wrote a post on Steemit, did my laundry, emptied my diswasher. It’s was really useful ? Yes, this acts was not prioritary, but it was very important to do that. So, why are you feel guilty ?

I continuous to do a lot of « to do lists »

The to do lists are the first step before to act. Because when you finish the mission, then you cross off this act on your list, I’m feeling so good when I cross off that ! It’s synonym of well being. When I write a to do list, I have the feeling to act, even if I start this act one month later. « Have you do that … » / « Yes, it is in my to do list since one month so it’s in progress ».

The to do list, allowed me to have a global vision of all my projects in progress. Sometimes, when I feel my day will be very boring, I write a to do list beginning by : « to wake-up, to take a shower, to drink a coffe, to dress, to listen music, to start my computer … ». I woke-up me since only one hour and I have aleady crossed off six act on my to do list. I am already happy and ready to continious my day of work.


And you know that ? With the help of this technique, I do not get discouraged anymore, I don’t feel me guilty and I have succeeded to progress on my projects. Today, I get good nights to sleep, I’m feel better. It’s most plaisant to accept his procrastination than to feel guilty ? Are you agree with that ?

Sort:  

You have a minor misspelling in the following sentence:

Sometimes, when I feel my day will be very boring, I write a to do list begining by : « to wake-up, to take a shower, to drink a coffe, to dress, to listen music, to start my computer … ».
It should be beginning instead of begining.

Congratulations @carolineparadis! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @carolineparadis! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @carolineparadis! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!