When should you move out of your parents' house?

in #life7 years ago (edited)

bamboo.jpg

I am a fresh graduate, currently job hunting, and I live with my parents.

In terms of finances, it is really smart to live with your parents as long as they are okay with it. No question. The ROI of moving out of your parents' house is independence. In some countries, the stigma is that you are still not an adult unless you have moved out (Americanized view). You might find trouble dating or even with your social status.

In Asia (I live in the Philippines), it is more common that children move out after they get married. This happens, I believe, because of three main reasons: (1) close family ties; (2) high prices of real estate; and (3) high cost of living in proportion to what we earn. To make matters worse, the tax brackets in the Philippines are not updated; and therefore, the middle-class are being taxed like the rich, and the poor are being taxed like the middle-class.

If you are working but still stay with your parents, make sure to help around the house financially or by doing chores. Doing chores (cooking, cleaning, grocery, etc.) is also great practice so you will be prepared when you do decide to move out.

Personally, the question cannot be answered by a number (age) but by how prepared you are. Financial independence and having practical skills (like cooking) can definitely give you an upper hand.

I'm keeping this article short since I don't think that I am the proper person to talk about this as I do not have much experience yet. But I still hope that you have found value :) Upvote and reply down below - Let me know what you think the proper time to move out of your parents' places.

Sources: BeatTheBush, pixabay.com

Thank you for reading. Follow @cbcheng for more :D

Sort:  

This post received a 4.1% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @cbcheng! For more information, click here!

Whuddup! I see that you have been on steemit for some time now yet I'm feeling generous. I just upvoted you for this as you deserved it and I hope you will some day do the same!
I know how hard it is to receive upvotes on a new account so I suggest you to try out Steemfollower as you can earn 5x more steem than just upvoting by yourself! It's a simple and safe vote exchange that is free to use. I also recently made this post explaining that in more depth and it has become my most upvoted post yet.

that is what going to happen to men after several days :o...