What I have learned this year.

in #life6 years ago

I´ve learned that it’s okay to feel alone, considering 70% of the time I’m on this earth I´ll be alone, I’ve learned everyone to some degree feels by themselves on this journey.
I’ve learned that to find silence is to find your voice and to find your voice you must find silence.
I’ve learned that my childhood still affects me this very second, the good parts, the bad parts, it all echoes and on some days is louder than others.
I’ve learned that forgiveness is most useful when given unconditionally to those who hurt me and those I’ve hurt. I’ve learned to look in the mirror differently. I’ve learned to forgive myself.
I’ve learned that you will never be happy in life if you keep on searching for what happiness consists of. I’ve learned that you will never live if you keep searching for the meaning of life.
I’ve learned the more you obsess over the idea of things the more chances you have to get hurt or disappointed. I’ve learned to let go.
I’ve learned that to put effort into being well-liked is to try to be something else other than yourself. I’ve learned that to strive for perfection is to strive for insanity.
I’ve learned that the only opinion that truly matters is my own and anyone else’s is nothing but subjective commentary.
I’ve learned that the only person to compare yourself is your best self and I’ve learned to know my best self.
I’ve learned that the two most powerful words in the English language are I and am and when put together you can either create yourself or destroy yourself.
I’ve learned that it’s not about what you know but what you do with what you know.
I’ve learned that running away doesn’t solve your problems just postpones them for a while.
I’ve learned that the feeling of having butterflies in your gut when looking at your crush isn’t just a middle-school thing, it’s also a twenty-something thing.
I’ve learned it´s okay to fall in love again, out of love and in love, even it’s just a fall out once more.
I’ve learned that my heart isn’t completely dead, only hibernating. I’ve learned that salt water is the real cure for anything. Sweat and tears in the ocean.
I’ve learned that goodbyes aren’t forever, hellos aren’t guaranteed. I’ve learned you can’t go back and create a new beginning but you can start now and create a new ending.
I’ve learned that growing up sucks sometimes and its okay to give up the act of knowing what you’re doing 24/7.
I’ve learned that I’d rather make memories that I can remember and leave the messy blurry ones behind.
I’ve learned to talk more and text less, kiss more and fight less. I’ve learned that we could all use a little less URL and more IRL.
I’ve learned that to find purpose you must let go and lose yourself one in a while. I’ve learned that it’s okay to be lost, your breathing and that will get you through the day.
I’ve learned that loving yourself is hard, probably the hardest thing to accomplish in life and it’s also not something you acquire through others.
I’ve learned that change is uncomfortable and as long as you’re comfortable you won’t change.
I’ve learned that waiting for an answer isn’t one worth waiting for, there 7 days of the week and someday isn’t one.
I’ve learned that to be happy is to love and embrace all imperfection.
I’ve learned that to be free is to suffer, to experience pain, to feel insecure, to be alone and know in your heart that you have the ability to learn and grow from every possible form of suffering that life brings you.
I’ve learned that my 2017 is nothing greater than or less than, but equal. I’ve learned that no matter how lost or how long I may feel, were all going through our own chapter, our own year.

And you, what have you learned this year?


Happy New Year