Dog-sitting for my mother for 6 weeks - 2 week in I realize I'm allergic...

in #life7 years ago

Here in the northeast it's starting allergy season. I thought that's what my allergies were even though I never remembered them being this bad until today when I brushed out the dog. Talk about congestion and watery eyes. Almost instantly worse.

I have 4 more weeks of watching my mom's dog... What do I do?

Sort:  

I have had allergies many years and here's what I would do.
A couple of tips that may help: If the dog spends time out of doors, it probably has lots of pollen in its fur. Find a volunteer to brush the dog if you can. Second: Find some local bee pollen and eat just a nugget or two.If you get a big reaction or really itchy throat, stop. Other wise slowly increase amount to 1/2 teaspoon. Lastly increase water intake which is a multi-level approach. If you drink a lot of water in a short amount of time, it will tend to go through you,make you pee a lot and help flush out pollen. Sipping a little every 5 or 10 minutes will hydrate you and it helps to keep you from peeing all the time. Try both of these methods through out the day. And a very effective detox from the ayurvedic tradition (ancient to present India ) is to sip hot water every 10 to 15 minutes throughout the day. This is by far the most difficult. Sourcing hot water on a schedule but really works and removes other toxins also. Best of health to you.

Greatness! So much health experience and tip in your comment, left her to help others. Thank you!

Thank you, I appreciate the kind words.

You are welcome and thank you for being on steemlab(discord) and your patience on there. Less activity but big dreams. Keep on being nice!

Mentored at an impressionable age by spiritual masters, I am balanced vibrations = nice. Went to steemlab but fail to understand proper protocol and the how to. When I have more time I'll hang there for a while and figure it out.

Hahaha, thank you. Not much to figure out for now. Have seen you there! For now it is all just setting up but we will be visiting your comments at least and ofcourse, you can leave your posts links as the members on there are growing. The vision is great and long term and the ultimate aim is to be nice towards one another and help one another grow!

Thanks very much for the advise. Its a little guy dog, in the house most of the time. I'm really pretty confident that it's the dog himself, not the pollen/dust on him.
I work construction and we're all over the place and my allergies are never as bad as currently inside my own house.

We wish could give advice on this but hopefully bilbop helped. It will really help if you made the post a bit longer and perhaps, with a picture so that it can have a thumbnail and can attract more steemians. On a question, like this you really need answers. Sorry about your allergies too. @thecryptofiend and @tfeldman are doctors, they may know how to help with this if they have time!

Congratulations @censor-this! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!