The Story Behind Horticola La Fe Greenhouse Tomatoes <English/Español>

in #life6 years ago

In 2008 I was living the good life in Southwest Florida, paying rent by working as a bartender. While the region is almost paradise, I always knew it was only a temporary landing for me. As is the often the case in that business, I had many Mexican colleagues. One of them, in particular, was always the hardest working person in the room.
En 2008, estuve pasandolo bien en el suroeste de Florida, pagando la renta trabajando de barman. A pesar de que esa region es casi paraiso, siempre sabia que solo iba a ser paradero temporal. Como es el caso en aquella industria, yo tenia muchos colegas mexicanos. Uno en particular siempre fue el quien mas ganas le echaba entre todos.

We struck up a friendship.
Hicimos amistad.

One day he told me of his dream to have a greenhouse, where he would produce high quality tomatoes. Bells went off in my head, and I knew I had to help fulfill his dream.
Un dia me contó su sueño de tener un invernadero, en donde produciría jitomate de alta calidad. Sonaron campanas en mi cabeza, y supe que tenia que ayudar en cumplir su sueño.

So a month later, we drove from SWFL to Veracruz state in Mexico...
Asi que un mes despues, nos manejamos desde Florida al estado de Veracruz.
FLtoMX.png

Where I bought a piece of land in the valley of the Rio Pescados.
Donde compre un terreno en la cañada del Rio Pescados.
DSC00495.JPG
DSC00494.JPG
DSC00498.JPG
DSC00187.JPG

Then we started building.
Y comenzamos la construcción.

DSC00801.JPG
DSC00800.JPG

6.jpg
DSC00188.JPG
DSC00208.JPG

And we started growing.
Y comenzamos la siembra.
DSC01159.JPG
DSC01163.JPG
DSC00034.JPG

And provided employment to locals.
Dando empleo a los lugareños._
DSC00038.JPG
DSC00047.JPG
DSC00048.JPG

And got to work myself.
Y me meti a la chamba.
DSC00109.JPG

Putting in some serious sweat equity!
Sudando como puerco!
DSC00280.JPG

Fulfilling the dream of this man, Ing. Domitilo Meneses Gonzalez.
Realizando el sueño de este hombre
DSC00278.JPG

Producing the high quality tomatoes he promised me back in Florida.
Produciendo los jitomates de altisima calidad que me prometió en Florida.
DSC00669.JPG
DSC00276.JPG

Our first harvest!
Nuestra primera cosecha!
DSC00282.JPG
DSC00285.JPG

For five years we produced tons and tonnes!
Durante cinco años producimos toneladas!
IMG_0912.JPG

Unfortunately the situation in the State of Veracruz got so dangerous, thanks to a pair of governors who simultaneously looted the state treasury and enabled the Cartels to run wild, that the decision was made to bring my involvement to a close. In short, I fled the country with my life before the criminals decided to come for me.
Desafortunadamente la situacion en el estado de Veracruz se puso tan peligroso, gracias a un par de gobernadores quien simultaneamente saquearon la tesoreria y dieron licencia a los Carteles a operarse abiertamente, que decidimos a terminar mi participacion. Es decir, hui con mi vida antes que los secuestradores me alcanzaran.

Ing. Domitilo was able to maintain the business for a while, but then the economy got dramatically worse, making it very difficult for any such business to stay afloat.
El Inge pudo mantener el negocio a flote por un rato, pero la economía en el estado empeoró aun mas después de irme. lo que hace muy difícil mantener a flote cualquier negocio.

Recently I encouraged him to open a Coinbase account, with the idea that I would publicly share his wallet addresses.
Recientemente, le sugería de abrirse una cuenta en Coinbase, con la idea de hacer público sus carteras.

The assistance received will resuscitate the greenhouse, help keep the dream alive, and provide income for various families in the region.
La ayuda que sea recibida impulsará el invernadero nuevamente, ayudará a mantener vivo el sueño, y generara empleos que proveen ingresos para varias familias en la zona.

BTC 1KPBaNS1mqa3dogJx7Mis15KtFsSdf7WNA
BCH 1Bw1DKyQctSvAQeehyf8ZbZJLeUVtprgkm
ETH 0x2406F13Fd2d8080302e2587dcA56aA3A1417738a
LTC LYh1AWBCq1A3o2JoUZXSLib8f2VFAFzrQB

Thank you for your generosity!
Gracias por su generosidad!