New Years resolution QUITTING SMOKING πŸ˜©πŸ‘ŒπŸΌ

in #life β€’ 6 years ago (edited)

So it's January and that can mean only a few things... 1 everyone is trying hard to save money after the bustle of the Christmas period and 2, most people have made New Years resolutions (which we all probably won't stick to for longer than a few weeks at best πŸ˜‚)
IMG_0985.JPG

My New Years resolution this year was to quit smoking and so far it's safe to say that it hasn't gone so well. Usually I smoke about 5-10 cigarettes a day so although I'm not a heavy smoker, it is always a good time to try and stop. Today I decided to destroy all of my remaining cigarettes and try to get through this cold-turkey.
IMG_0963.JPG
Quitting smoking would not only improve my life financially (I live in the UK and so I pay roughly Β£10 every other day for a box of 20 cigarettes) but it would also improve my life in various other ways. I work in a job that involves me talking on the phone to clients for a large portion of the day, and a smokers cough or dry throat is the last thing that you want to creep up on you whilst trying to sound professional to customers. Since I have been smoking I have also found myself getting short of breath a lot more easilier than I did before I started. Overall, there are so many benefits to quitting but not many benefits at all to carrying on. If there are any smokers out there reading this then I would also advise you to try to quit, it will be a hard struggle but overall should be well worth it in the long term.

Well today was my first day of actually taking this whole quitting smoking business seriously and so far it hasn't gone so badly. Yes I am craving my nicotine fix but in general I feel less tired and just generally less 'crappy' than I did when I was smoking - and it's only day 1! 😁

Wish me luck guys!

Thanks for reading this short post ✌🏼😁

Sort: Β 

That's odd, I feel the complete opposite.
other than few expirements in highschool, I never been into smoking, but as the years go by, I consider picking up smoking more often.

Haha I wouldn't recommend you to pick it up. That's how I started, I thought to myself hmm I'm a bit stressed maybe I'll just have one cigarette today but I won't continue with it or get addicted... then before I knew it I was smoking everyday. I never smoked throughout high school either and in fact I only started around the age of 21, but yeah I don't advise you to start, stay healthy ! 😁

My life is too boring to not consider it, specially when anything fun can land me in jail, even drinking

Quit smoking ! Don't think about it again. End of topic !!!

I will try my best 😁

@char-bizz I know the pain of a type of chainsmoker , it's good that you try to control it. So best of luck for your new year resolution πŸ‘

I do try to but it can be tough especially after a hard day at work, thanks for the support though 😁

good luck and do your best, healthy mind and healthy body lol

Ah yeah I remember him saying now that your in UK! Where about are you I'm in Cornwall right down south, good luck with the smoking I need to do the same! :-)

Ahh Cornwall is so nice I'm jealous! πŸ™‚ I'm in London, it's loud and busy πŸ˜… Thanks lol it's been a struggle so far, I hope that you find the determination to do it also at some point because trust me it takes a ton of determination (for me anyway πŸ˜‚)

Good luck! I remember reading nicotine is as addictive as heroin.

Thanks! πŸ™‚ Well I'm sure that is true as it's been a struggle so far... but on the plus side, at least I'm not also addicted to heroin I guess πŸ˜‰πŸ˜‚

Just do what I do! Drink whiskey! πŸ˜†πŸ˜‚πŸ€£

Ah yes, perfect solution! I will get rid of one addiction and replace it with another πŸ˜‰πŸ˜‚ haha just kidding, whiskey is good but I personally prefer vodka πŸ˜‰πŸ˜…

Yep, I know if you prefer vodka over whiskey, you’re definitely a woman! πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜‚πŸ€£