Last Week In Cambridge Before Uni!

in #life7 years ago

Hello all, so yeah... as the title says, this week is my last week in Cambridge before I head off to Kent University in Canterbury to study film. I wasn't exactly sure how to start this post, hence the not so formal intro, but wanted to talk a bit about what it feels like to be leaving the place where I grew up and will miss dearly. Luckily I'm going to the same uni as a couple of my friends from my sixth form college, but I'll also be leaving behind the majority of them. Most of my friends are either taking gap years or heading off to different universities around the country; a few of them are in full time work or apprenticeships. It's going to be strange saying goodbye to people that I've grown so fond of and who I've known for such a long time, to go and make a new group of friends at Kent. Of-course it'll be easy for us to stay in contact, due to social media and modern technology. We'll all be returning to Cambridge during Christmas time as well, so we'll have to make sure we meet up lots then. I'm going to miss my boyfriend Robin @robintherunner so much as well, especially as we'll have gone from seeing each other several times a week, to only seeing each other in the holidays. He's studying in Wales which is too far away for either of us to visit each other, but hopefully we'll still be going strong by Christmas time. Because obviously I'm leaving home for the first time (which is a strange situation in itself), I also had to go to Sainsbury's with my mum today and pick up lots of pots, pans, plates, cutlery etc... I think it's only really just sinking in that I'm going to university. Anyone who has experienced this will know exactly how I'm feeling, but at least I can say that when I get there, I won't be alone. We'll all be in the same boat. I'm going to try and make the most out of this last week at home, seeing as many friends as I can and spending as much time with Robin and my family as possible. Luckily I have no shifts this week, so other than packing I should have plenty of time to do this! I hope you enjoyed reading this more personal post. I don't know if it will interest everyone, but I thought that I'd write it as sometimes on Steemit people don't say enough about themselves, and therefore their followers don't really get to know them. If you did enjoy it, please can you give it an upvote, a comment and a resteem as it would really help me out. Please follow me if you want to hear about how I get on when I travel down there next weekend! As always, thanks so much for reading, and I hope that where ever you are in the world, you have a great day.

Sort:  

I really wish you referenced your image source. I wanted to send this in for curation. However, I've followed you because I'm interested to read about how you fare in college. I hope you keep blogging. I could relate with every word you wrote. That much nostalgia. 😊 Good luck in your endeavours.

From your newest friend in Nigeria.

It's always strange leaving home for somewhere new, like some movie that's moving too fast. But you'll get used to it, just make nice friends that'll help you.

If your university gives orientation for freshmen, you should go for it. I didn't go for mine and wandered around the school looking for class venues for a whole week.

You should space out your post. And use paragraphs, cos it being close together discourages people from reading it and messes with the eyes, mine at least.
I learnt that the hard way.

I hope you have a memorable stay.
Good memorable. Not bad.

Good luck, I think that you will thrive in Uni, you will make loads of new friends and will have the time off your life :-)

Looking forward to reading about your adventures!