BIG things have small beginnings

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Hello, all you Beautiful people.

I'd like to share a story with you guys about Something my mom and I started about 3 years ago in our community. Towards the end of every year, we host a Christmas party and ask all those who attend to bring a wrapped shoe boxes with a special gift inside for a less fortunate child.We started this tradition in order to bring smiles and joy to those kids who have never received Christmas presents before because the orphanages or care centers just couldn't afford it. Its been a humbling experience and the joy on the childrens faces when they see these gifts is a memory i will forvever treasure. My story is a short one and I do not intend on bragging but I want to encourage those of you who can to start something like this in your community.

IMG_0031.JPG

We are all so wrapped up in our own lives, disappointments and financial stresses that we sometimes forget to step back and think about those who don't even know what a Christmas gift is. These children have no high expectations and even a teddy bear or a jersey brings the utmost amount of joy to thier lives.
I wanted to share some images and a video of the Aids orphanage in South Africa that we were privledged enough to help last year and i hope that we as a community can come together and something small for someone else all around the world.

I hope this inspires you to make a difference :)

Charne's signature for steemit.png