Peace of mind...

in #life6 years ago (edited)

As I've gotten older my values have changed a lot. I think sometimes of the man I used to be, looking at the walked road and remember the younger me with a bit of nostalgia. Not because I don't like who I am, but because Its like visiting an old friend.


img src

I remember vividly chasing after money, after what I believed success was all about. I worked day and night to achieve a certain level of comfort, and I feel blessed to have done so, but I can't say I see things the same. To me, and this is my truth, the most special thing I posses is my peace, my peace of mind.

I always say this to my younger friends, specially those who I'm trying to mentor. Sometimes in the quest of money, we forget to work towards our peace and involve ourselves in situations that may make us money, but at the expense of all of our peace of mind.

Is it worth it? Is it really worth it? Well, you have to be willing to work hard to achieve great things, you have to be willing to pay the price. But if the goal is not to achieve peace, to achieve a place where you can enjoy the fruits of your labor. Why would you do all that? Working hard, so you can keep on working hard sounds a bit too gray for my taste.

Peace... it's really my most valuable asset

@chbartist

Sort:  

Peace is a valuable and worthy thing, in order to have a good life, without peace life is nothing but just a working Machine

exactly angli... exactly my point.

So true again, @chbartist! I hope I'm allowed to add a little something.

Even if you're not "chasing after money" like you say, even then we are all trading time for money. Nothing on this planet is scarce: we produce enough food for more than 12 billion people, still we have a system that is unable to feed the 7.5 billion people that exist. In capitalism something must be scarce before it can make money, so we destroy all the extra food, just to keep food scarce enough for it to make a buck. Same with almost all other things we produce: here in Europe all countries have countless empty buildings, but we all also have countless homeless people. This is the paradox we all live right now. Abundance against scarcity.

The only thing in our lives that is really scarce, is time, and that is why "time is money" is true in this economy. The reason so many people are "chasing after money" is because the only way to beat this rule, is to be fast, faster than everybody else and everybody else is your opponent in this rat-race.

It's up to each of us to find our own balance between selling our time for material wealth and taking the time to create peace of mind. But we must also not forget that the system of "free market trading" is forcing us to skimp on the peace of mind and race harder to even stay alive or have a roof over your head or send your children to school.

This is ultimately why I love all your latest posts: we really do need guidance, a clear and articulate voice that reminds us of all the other and often more important goals in life... You're a rat-race-antidote and a peace-promotor, and I (we) love that! :-)

I always appreciate your input... cheers

Hello @chbartist, words so true that they break down all walls, so convincing a truth that they lead me to reflect on what I must do with my plans in order to obtain that peace I long for. It's not easy to change course by leaving our comfort zone, especially when we don't have a clear plan to move forward, it's like a vicious circle, but I do have to do something to get out of where I don't want to be. Life should be for the end of the day to say, "Thank you Lord for this great day. Happiness always.

It's looks peaceful👍👍

it looks very peaceful, nice and beautiful, than you for sharing this artwork @chbartist

You've done a job that produces money. You are right. I think that people work day and night to make money so they can feel the peace with lots of money.

Peace of mind is of utmost importance in your pursuit of success. Let there be peace within you so that you can accomplish your dreams. May these quotes aid you in your pursuit of a greater life

Success is being able to buy back your free time - time to spend doing what makes you happy while creating value and making an impact on the world

I think all things are valuable in life in periocular time