Why Do You Want What You Want?

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Sometimes we are so focused on the rewards we have not really understood the purpose and reason for doing what we are doing. It's at these times that should probably ask ourselves if we are missing out on the journey, I guess if you are going too fast you might not have had the time to think about why.

There is an old fable that does a wonderful job explaining this problem, as part of the speeches I sometimes do, I like to use stories to convey the message more powerfully.


purpose.jpg
img src

There was once a master who had a very eager disciple at this side, his disciple was hungry for knowledge and attempted to emulate his master in all ways that he could. After being by his side for almost a year the young disciple started to lose his calm nature and get a little impatient, after all he wanted to be also enlightened just like his teacher.

In one of those late night conversations over supper the disciple asked his teacher with a friendly voice.

"Teacher, if I study 7 days a week instead of 4, how long will it take for me to be enlightened like you?"

The teacher replied with no hesitation "5 years"

The answer made the student coil back, but he asked one more time "But... if I study harder, maybe do late nights two or three times a week and still do 7 days... How long will it take?"

The teacher replied "10 years then"

This answer made the young student a bit upset, he did not understand it at all, if he works harder he should of course achieve results faster, at least this makes sense to all of us.

He asked one more time.. "Teacher but if I take absolutely no breaks, and do double the work I'm currently doing all 7 days of the week, I'm sure to get there faster.... correct?"

The teacher one more time said... "it might take you 15 years then"

Noticing the student losing his temper the teacher continued "if you are so focused on the reward, you will never be able to focus on any true purpose"

This story has helped me understand that without purpose, there is no direction and to think of only the destination is to miss out on the gift of participating of the journey.

I wanted to take also this opportunity to thank everyone who has been leaving all these supportive comments on this blog. I'm confident that with time more and more people who understand what it means to belong to the Tribe of good intent will join us and maybe these stories I share can become valuable to many more.

Chao, Tribe of good Intent

Hope everyone is having a pleasant evening.

Much success to you all

@chbartist

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

This is so touchy. People are now getting education just for the sake of good job and perfect life and I know these things are important in our life but we also need internal education like how to behave, react and talk with others. True person is not just rich but well behaved and kind heart as well.

This is just amazing

I absolutely agree! It's hard to focus on day-to-day productivity if we get mesmerized by the glimmering thoughts of success. Success is a process, a history in the making in every task we accomplish. - No matter how small.

If we focus on what we are doing and forget about what the result will be there are chances that we could achieve something more valuable that we expected.

@danyalqureshi, truly, it is the purpose that keeps us going at the most difficult moments. Sometimes, you just have to stop to ask yourself 'why am I even doing what I am doing? '
@chbartist, this one got me thinking... Thanks so much for sharing

Absolutely TRUE!

Dont focus on the reward that you will achieve instead identify first the purpose on why you are doing it and make it a hobby for you to love what you are doing and prevent yourself from weariness and tireness. If ever you will stumble and fall, still you can get-up and continue towards the path of success.

Yes well done ..
Success is to take advantage of your chances in life,
Regardless of the result
Thank you for sharing your words

COMPLETELY AGREE WITH YOU. we just gotta find the purpose of our life first. what we wanna do is important then we can put all of our effort in that. find purpose you will find success

A very interesting story to enjoy. Lots of life value in your post. An interesting storytelling language makes the reader not want to finish this story. Unbelievably cool. Thank you for sharing @chbartist

Yeah . Rightly said if you are foscusing on your rewwrd then you wont be able to focus on purpose. Marvelous story to convey such a great message. Once you have a purpose in mind then direction is automatically set and you are on.

It's a good time reading you

I love this idea so much. Thank you for your hard work.
I like all of your stuff because your content type is very educational

Really enjoyed reading the fable. I find myself looking forward to your posts. I just started following you last week. The tribe of good intent is a very cool thing.

good afternoon, I liked reading your post for several reasons, the first one is because it was the post I was looking for, it was like the words I was looking for, the second reason is because it is very well written and easy to understand, very good story the post was excellent, I hope you take into account my humble comment, a greeting from Venezuela

Gracias amigo. Estoy muy triste con lo que está pasando en su país. El steemit es una gran oportunidad para ustedes y otros países de América latina que sufren actualmente. Espero que estés acompañando mi historia y yo te estoy ayudando a tener inspiración para vencer en la vida. No dejes de leer los Capitulos de Building the road to success - Chapter 1, 2 y 3. Saludos

I appreciate that you have taken into account my humble comment, if I will take into account, if we are going through a very difficult situation but we must pray for things to change for the better, and if you are right when you say that steemit is a great opportunity for everything the Venezuelans

Great read. This is something I've been struggling with as of recently. Trying to define what I want, and then figure out why it is I want it. Purpose is the single greatest influence we have in our lives and it can define us more than we think. Thanks for sharing. Looking forward to more :)

Thank you so... All the best!

Really enjoyed reading the fable. I find myself looking forward to your posts. I just started following you last week. The tribe of good intent is a very cool thing.

Thank you very much for always sharing your wisdom and sharing light, sometimes you want to go faster in the middle of anxiety and everything has its time, time to laugh, time to cry, time to grow

Wow... Wonderful post
It's very true that without purpose, there can be no direction. Impatience is one of the problems of this generation. It's good to have the rewards in mind while investing your energy and time in a course. But never focus on the rewards too much, it can be a distraction to your improvement...
Many people end up living unfulfilled lives because they want to be like someone else.
A fish cannot survive out of water and a lizard cannot function like a monkey. Learn from people, be patient and grow gradually...
BE YOU!!!!!

i m following you now only since a few days, but it is really inspiring to read your different post and articles. I m always saying to my friends and business partners as well to have or to search their purpose, their Why? You always need a purpose. And you have to know, when you will reach it. Targets without a date is just and will stay forever a wish. So thank you very much for sharing your words with us.
Sunny Wishes a big success from the carribean. mikeCee
$_72 rot3.png

Thank you friend!

you're very welcome

Sometimes we are so focused on reaching our goal that we forget the reason why we are working towards it and we miss out on the true experience. Thanks for sharing and inspiring @chbartist.

You got a 100.00% upvote and resteem from @estream.studios courtesy of @chbartist. Thank you for using the @estream.studios UPVOTE and RESTEEM bot.

If you are looking to earn a passive no hassle return on your Steem Power, delegate your SP to @estream.studios by clicking on one of the ready to delegate links:
50SP | 100SP | 250SP | 500SP | 1000SP | 5000SP | Custom Amount

You will earn 80% of the voting bot's earnings based on your delegated SP's prorated share of the bot's SP pool at the end of EACH voting round! That is up to 38.5% APR! You can also undelegate at anytime.

Amazing content I must say. It's the first post I resteemed, cos it defines purpose, the life path of anyone. Your story is so touching... It just rewired me. Thank you @chbartist

Purpose is key, focus on learning in line with purpose and rewards will come when the craft is perfected.

I did like this article very very much, however, i still fail to see the purpose of my life. Some people claim that thier purpose in life is to raise thier childeren to ensure they have the best chance in life. I dont exactly buy this. Is there really a purpose to life? in prehistoric times yes, the primary purposes was to survive to adulthood, then to propagate the species. I know that sounds rudimentary, but I'm not sure what else to think.

Ideas come from desire, desire comes from demand, demand comes from life

57C6C0E3-86A3-4150-AD81-8EA33137A10F.jpeg

A great salesman focuses on providing value, which means the perception of great services to the customers ..... and the sales will come.

right said

Awesome motovational post and i believe that alot of us want things but dont know why they really want it and what it would do for them, i believe on convincing myself why i want it before i go hard on wanting it

If You really wanted to be successful follow these golden Rules

Surround yourself with people having same goal
Read books.
Never give up : Believe in yourself and keep moving. ✌✌

Don't booze or use drugs just because you think it is ‘totally cool'.
Don't be possessive, Nothing is yours.
It's okay to be emotional, But don't show it.
Fake people attract you more. True ones are boring.

Never stop moving in life.
Know yourself,
Be yourself,
Spend some time with yourself,
Never lie To yourself,
Because it is “YOU“ a friend for Life Time.
Problems in life comes unexpectedly. Be well prepared emotionally

We all have our list of factors we need in life – high-quality relationships, a pleasant home, a healthful frame, economic safety and extra. Have you ever ever ever stopped to ask in which your definitions of those desires came from and why you need them?
Marketing and media are wonderful at telling us what we should want and function. Their messages are so slick that we typically don’t even think about whether we actually need their offerings. We absolutely need them.

I really enjoy the story.
You are amazing.

You got a 19.79% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @chbartist!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Better said never "Without purposes there is no direction", I love your way of teaching through reading, that way helps your readers to understand from their own perspective, personally I agree with you that we should always keep in mind the purpose that we have not to lose the direction and as my grandmother always said "No matter how fast you reach the goal, the important thing is to arrive, and realize everything you learned along the way". Excellent publication, @chbartist

nice post....
upvote pls on my post

if you are so focused on the reward, you will never be able to focus on any true purpose

that is the mistake most of do, too focused on the reward, forgetting to set out a purpose for our journey.
And you miss out all the good stuff in that journey, the lessons, the pain and the joy.
thanks for making my day @chbartist

sometimes we just think about how the rewards, but do not understand about his job

Congratulations @chbartist, this post is the second most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Superuser account holder (accounts that hold between 1 and 10 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Superuser account holders during this period was 1278 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $7293.84. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Thank you for that beautiful teaching! Sometimes we spend a lifetime without knowing what our purpose is, there are even people who have lived 50 years without knowing it, but we are all born with a purpose and many say that we don't leave this life until we fulfill it, but there will always be that uncertainty. beautiful post, and very reflective.

This is really inspiring we must learn to enjoy the moment else we'll lose what we're struggling for.
#lookingatthenow

I totally agree, much focus on reaching the destination that we often forget to enjoy the ride. It's a nice read!

absolutely a true word.
you cant make a direction without propose

We need to focus on the purpose what we do before then the rewards will come ahead in the way we work. There is no shortcut to become successful. Your articles are so much valuable and inspirational to us. Keep it up. @chbartist

extraordinary
sometimes it is like that
we are more easily discouraged when the goal is not achieved quickly, while the process that we are still in the early stages
thanks @chbartist

A great #story behind all those walls. Nothing more wonderful than the nature and simplicity of the #human being. Greetings from somewhere in the #world, vote positive if you use steemit... @STORYPICTURES26815560_2037416096483093_4998566420429106113_n.jpg

"if you are so focused on the reward, you will never be able to focus on any true purpose"
This is so enlightening. I'll tell you what? This post is the best I have read all week. I'm so glad I followed you. Please keep these beautiful posts coming.

Great story. I didn’t understand about enjoying the journey until I am across a spiritual teacher a few years ago. Now, I see my current training for a future goal as having fun at the moment whilst preparing for the future. Absolutely the reason way keeps me motivated more than the rewards that may follow.

Amazing story.
That is true the most important thing should not be the reward it should be the purpose.
I am so happy to hear this.
This was my thoughts too.
Thanks a lot for sharing such a great story.

I am a typical of that student, putting the result in very fast way without considering the firts purpose. And as you said I will upset when I was not focus on the process of journey. Thank you sooo much for inspiration @chbartist

I really enjoyed this article, what a great digestible story on how the destination should never be our only thought. The journey is all we have and it is through the journey that we do the most learning. I am currently a young padawan like the student and I often get discouraged myself. One day when i'm older I know i'm going to look back and tell my younger self to "slow down!" This is why I am trying to take that advice now in the present. Thanks again for this! I also post content like yours on my page :) Have a great day!

muy cierto lo que tu historia relata el mundo va tan rapido que olvidamos para donde vamos cual es nuestro centro te sigo espero aprender mucho de ti

A very useful article. many things can be learned. but I want to ask a little, what is the relationship between purpose, rewards and steemit? sorry, I just join steemit and still learn. whether the goals and rewards also apply to be successful. sorry my question is not quality, but that's me

Without a purpose, we are like a boat sailing at the midst of the sea without destination. Thank you for the eye opening post. Focus on results not rewards.

There are 2 pages
Pages