Prisoners to technology?

in #life7 years ago (edited)

IMG_1134.PNG

So about a month ago I dropped one of my business cards in a bin at the local Tijuana Flats for a chance to win a free lunch catered to my coworkers and me. To tell you the truth, I totally forgot I did that. Well this morning my work got an email saying that they drew my card and we won a free lunch! I'm excited for everyone that we finally get a break from Pei Wei, which is where we mostly go since it's just a walk across the way. I walk into the break room at work with a huge smile on my face and jokingly said "your welcome" to everyone. I asked if they heard the news and they all did. No one seemed excited as I was. I mean come on FREE LUNCH! Instead everyone just buried their faces back into their phones. I giggled to myself but it's sad how this generation is.

About 84% of people cannot spend a day without their phone and 50% of teens say their addicted to their phones. Our phones are taking the place of real, physical relationships with people.

I've heard of restaurants that if you give them your phone in the beginning before sitting down and they hold onto it for the remainder of your meal, they will give you a percentage off your bill. That sounds like a good deal to me! But how many people could actually go through with it? One in four people check their phones every thirty minutes, while one in five check every ten.

Parents these days are rewarding their children for bad behavior by giving them their phones and/or tablets to get them to be quiet and to behave. I as a parent am guilty of doing this too. But what are we really teaching them? They are growing up being dependent technology and become addicted at a very young age.

We, as humans, have lost the true meaning of communication. What happened to face to face contact? We need that to survive. I don't want to be a prisoner to technology. Do you?