What Odds Did YOU Beat To Become YOU and How To Make Ideas GROW!

in #life6 years ago (edited)

2929944010_3e162b39ae_z.jpg

As I Sit Here In Existential Disbelief...


I'm going to start by talking about how my morning normally goes each day. I wake up at the crack of noon, take a step outside to inhale some of that "creativity herb" that B.C. has been so famous for, then I pour myself a cup of coffee, throw on a ted talk and start coming up with my project for the day.

Most of the time the ted talks just serve as background noise but every now and then there is someone who really peaks my attention, Mel Robbins and her ted talk "How to stop screwing yourself over" was one of those talks!

How We Screw Ourselves


She begins by talking about how when people make choices they tend to take way to many variables into account such as:

  • How our choice will affect other people.
  • Whether it is morally correct.
  • What people might think of you.

That really made me wonder why we do so many different things based on other people, I understand that if we all acted on every impulse that it would be a terrible unsafe world, but when it's something you really want and you are holding yourself back because of the reaction someone else might have is this really fair to yourself?

I believe that from the second we are born we start to adopt this "outer personality", this personality comes from everyone you meet who has influence in your life. Have you ever had one of those moments that you really did not want to do something but you did anyways? That's you letting your outer personality take over.

How To Get Out Of The Loop


Now this is the part that starts to get crazy, Mel jumped down into the crowd and pulled up some poor guy using his laptop and asked him if he knew what the chances were that he was himself, it was a staggering 1 in 4 TRILLION chance!

WOW! I don't know about you but that makes me feel pretty dumb for some of the more self destructive things I have done throughout my life! A 1 in 4 trillion chance was pretty lucky to beat, if we can do that what else do you think we could achieve?

She brought up how many ideas we come up with every day that we just brush under the rug, for example before beginning to write this article I thought to myself:

  • Will people read it?
  • Is it good to give my thoughts on a video? Could that be considered plagiarism?
  • What about time constraints do I have things to do today?

Is it dangerous to think like that? Are we just subconsciously giving ourselves an easy out? I think most people would agree that:

  • There is always someone with the same interests as you.
  • Writing about an uplifting experience watching something is definitely not considered plagiarism.
  • Most time constraints are set by yourself, not other people.

But for some reason these thoughts ran through my head. Mel came up with a great way to get around this that I most definitely will try to consider in my day to day life. Instead of subconsciously making a decision to sweep an idea under the rug, make physical proof of the idea AS SOON AS YOU THINK OF IT!

  • You can send a text to yourself or a friend.
  • Write the idea on a piece of paper or smartphone notes.
  • Make a voice memo.

When you do this you solidify it as an idea, now you can't just gradually lose the idea among your thoughts, it is here to stay! I don't know if this is exactly what she was trying to get across in the video but this was my take home from it. Either way it was a very enlightening, informative video and definitely one I would suggest to watch!

In Closing


I feel that if we take more time to consciously think of our ideas and give them room to grow we as people can do amazing things! Is it wrong to only do something for your benefit at the expense of someone else? Yes of course we as a race will not go anywhere if we cannot show empathy and remorse.

With that said do I believe that doing something to further yourself alone without worrying what people might think of you is wrong? Hell no, as long as you aren't a detriment to society as a whole than why cant you be a little selfish once in a while.

Besides, you are 1 IN 4 TRILLION! You should be spending all day doing the...
CarltonCarltonCarltonCarltonCarlton


As always I wish you all the most Classy Ass Day and all the Good Vibes, Peace, and Love the world has to offer!


Thank you so much for reading this post, if you or a friend is having trouble quitting smoking please refer to this website Quit Smoking (not claiming as my own website, just a reliable helpful source for quitting smoking!)

* Other Posts By Me*
Intro
Battery Wrap Safety
Kbox-200w Vape Review
Funny Vape Myths
My Home - Beautiful British Columbia

Sort:  

Congratulations @chrisftwynn! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Croatia vs England


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I give you a hint: look into abundance vs. scarcity + paradigms reflection.
As it was written on the oracle of Delphi: know thyself. - Why do you ask? Because most of the questions we have are already solved when we know ourselves.
Cheers!