Make Yourself The Authority - Meditation #35

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Do you cling to authority? Let's see.

Do you cower when the boss expresses displeasure? Do you think leaders are cut from a different cloth than you are? Do you need an expert in you field to give you a nod before you go all-in?

Well, if you answered yes to any of the above, I must respond with a resounding "Fuck that", my friend.

Your need for authority is illusory.

You're waiting for permission. You're waiting for answers. You're waiting for someone else to give you something that was never theirs to give. Authorities tell you what to do, but that doesn't mean that you ought to do it or even listen. And if an authority doesn't approve of you or notice you, you could be waiting a long time for them to say, "Go. You're ready."

What you ought to do is something that you already know. It's not in any rule book, employee manual, self-help book, or a $1500-a-pop-motivational-speaker seminar. You know what you ought to be doing. You're just not doing it yet. It's that niggling feeling deep down inside you. It's the thing you gave up on in the 10th grade. It's that fantasy that plays out in your head when you are in the shower (Ew, no. Gross. Not that fantasy. The other one).

You're the only authority that you need.

Will you be successful once you start becoming your own authority? I don't know. And I don't fucking care. Doing what feels right to you isn't about success. It's about listening to yourself, and chasing the things that you want to pursue. Being your authentic-self isn't half as dangerous as our brains make it seem. Just shut out all the noise that makes expressing who you truly are seem unwise or unreasonable.

You're not betting the farm or anything stupid. You're just trying to be yourself and to live the life that you want to live. Only you can give yourself permission to do that. Only you can validate the choices that you make.

Remember: Authorities always have an agenda. And that agenda doesn't always have your best interests in mind.

But don't worry. You're in charge now.

What's next, boss?

95% of today's post's earnings will go to @Byn. I want to thank her for her continued support and encouragement. Please share this post so we can spread more generosity on Steemit. If you want to support your own followers through donating post earnings to them, you can use the SteemPlus plugin for your browser.

Like this post? Please feel free to follow me!

Connect with me on Twitter!

Animated Banner Created By @zord189

Main image created in Canva; underline credit

Sort:  

Is turning oneself into the authority not a further buying into the illusion of authority? I don't know, but I still think that the idea of authority is useful as a tool.

A philosophy I was recently exposed: rethink oneself not as a person but as an entire organisation. I am the head of this company; I call the shots. I am the content creator of @pleaseignore ltd; I am responsible for my poetry and essays. I am my own marketing division; I must promote my brand to the best of my ability. I am human resources; I must ensure my own contentment in the group. I am finance; I must make sure I am earning revenue.

When we distil ourselves into these roles, all of the tasks become easier to manage. A mountain becomes just a few hills put together. And I think that the idea of authority is simply one of these slopes one stairway to heaven.

Hey, @pleaseignore! I getcha. I used the term authority more as a figure of speech. Basically, you need to believe in yourself and have the guts to trust yourself. When my posts are short, it's tough to get everything out there that needs to be said!

The organizational perspective you shared is interesting. I think with content creation, that definitely matters!

I couldn't agree more. I've always been the type to buck authority over decisions and choices. I am not a typical rebel, I don't like to break 'laws' or rules (hell, I don't even speed), but I also don't wait for someone to tell me (or even agree) that I can do something that I want to do.

Even as a child my mom told me I'd make a good 'manager' (aka I was bossy and made my own rules).

I guess in this way I am a dichotomy. When I wanted to direct plays, I hung around and volunteered at the theater for a few months until I found an "in" and then pretty much plowed my way through doing things my own way (very successfully, I might add.)

I think that has applied many times in many areas of my life and I'm glad I have never really struggled much with feeling the need to fall into someone else's idea of what I should do or how I should do it.

Great post, as always. I always have so much to say to these posts, you'd think I'd find topics like this to write about for my own blog ;)

You're awesome.

I think that you have a good attitude then. Yes, breaking rules for the sake of breaking rules is silly, but waiting around for structure to be created for you isn't wise. It's best to take initiative, even when you are lacking support from others.

You should tackle these topics! I'd love to hear more perspectives on these ideas. You can always drop me a link if you publish something along these lines. I'd love to have a peek.

And thanks for the kind words as always :)

The "problem" is that I feel like I would write 3,000 words and ramble onto 50 rabbit trails. You are genius at keeping it short, to the point and yet leaving an amazing impact. I am in awe of this skill of yours!

Where there is lazy, there is a way. lol

I've learned to pack it into condensed pieces, because long form becomes challenging for me. We envy each others' gifts! Trade?

This x 1 000 000. You may have to play along and meet a self-appointed "alpha" personality in the midst of their own folly, acting submissive as a means to an end, but always know inside that everything is subjective to you. One thing these self-appointed leaders have in common, is a complete lack of self-awareness. Just look down in pity on the next person who thinks they are dominating the situation

Here, have my completely devoid of value, but highly symbolic upvote.

I appreciate it! Hahaha

Yeah, we need to recognize that we can't wait for others to approve of or sanction our actions. We have to be the authority that we listen to.

Thanks for the comment and support!

@chrismccron Hmm, maybe we all should "Stop waiting and be our own authority right now" bro :)

That's the idea! Permission to pursue what you want can't come from the outside. It's always a choice we make.

Thanks for all your comments and support @wilhb81!

Wow, I like the part when you said,

Only you can give yourself permission to do that. Only you can validate the choices that you make.

Good reminder that for anything to change, we ourselves have to act first. As the saying goes, "God only help those that help themselves."

Also, @Spozone and @jusipassetti: I goofed SO HARD when I published this post. I was adding in 2 people (@Byn + someone else) to give them the same % payout that I gave you two yesterday, but I clicked "post" by accident! When I went back in, I couldn't change the beneficiaries for the post... So @Byn is getting an extra big percentage today lol...

Just wanted to let you two know that I intended to have this one split like yesterdays. No favoritism! Just a very dumb mistake ;)

Come on, you can admit it... I'm just the favorite ;)

But yeah, I've accidentally posted (myself or with the help of my daughter's cat!) so I understand. Thank you, btw, what you're doing is awesome! And I'm not just saying that because I'm a beneficiary!

I am glad you like it! I don't think people know about SteemPlus and that it has this feature.

It happens. Try doing all this on a cell phone with big arthritic clumsy fingers while riding on a city bus and see how that works out.

Don't stress at all, I honestly think it happened that way for a reason. You're awesome for giving back in this way.

Woo nice

Excellent advice! Doing what "feels right to you" should be second-nature to us, but we allow ourselves to be blindsided by the need for approval. Good motivational post!