How do I know if I'm depressed?

in #life7 years ago

"But how do I know if I'm depressed?" she asked.

Oh honey, you just know.


It's when you have no interest in doing anything unless it involves just laying here, doing nothing.

It's when you think to yourself "if money was no object, what would I do right now to make myself happy?" and the answer is "I'd just lay here". Even though that's what you've been doing, but it hasn't been making you happy.

It's when you know you need to get in the shower. You also know that just this oh-so-very-simple task will make you feel better, yet it is just too much effort and you cannot do it.

It's when you feel as though you're weighted down by bricks, both mentally and physically, you've done nothing, haven't moved for hours, and yet you've never known exhaustion like this.

It's when you don't care about anything. You know that your friends don't understand what you're going through and that they aren't going to keep on trying to stay in contact with you when you are just ignoring them. Sooner or later they will give up, and you will be alone; and that will be worse than it is now, but still you can't face talking to them.

It's when you even put your own health at risk. You need to brush your teeth, but you've run out of toothpaste, and you can't go over to the shop to get some more. Despite the fact that you have been so meticulous about oral hygiene for your whole life, you're now not even going to brush once a day because it's too much effort to go to the shop.


This is what Depression does. This is what She does to you. She doesn't care about what happy childhood you had or what you've achieved in the past, once She gets her claws in, She won't stop until She's ruined everything.

I truly believe Depression is a horrific illness. What worries me is that even in this day and age, Depression is still so misunderstood.

I drew my picture as it pretty much sums it up perfectly. You_Doodle_2017-08-15T05_42_37Z.png

Sort:  

Nice reading! Depression is...

But when we really need to get toothpaste, and we go out, we see and feel others energies, we see kids doing funny things, we see nice girls or boys (if you're a girl) looking at you, and when you came home you are better! and you look at your room, and you say to your self:

I need to clean this sh#t!

And you feel like:

kkkkk!

I have to say that sometimes i feel like that! But after cleaning the room, or doing something that I realy need to do, I feel Awesome!

And When your friends call you to get out! JUST GO! 😉

Yes I do not know what it is with depression but people dont take it seriously. Like it isnt real...like its made up and the person having it is only faking it and is beeing lazy or something. But i think on some subconcious level (or however you want to call it) people feel it. I know I do...I am sorry but it is so dense and heavy I admit I dont want to have contact with it (dont get me wrong here). Its just that the person suffering from this ilness is empty and drains on you - I think this is the main reason most people run from their lives....which makes the whole situation even worse.

Thanks for the reminder...