Depression? I see that life is not so much an effort as a gift

in #life6 years ago

download.jpeg

In depression, we close the door almost completely to life. We think we can hardly endure it. We ask ourselves, " Why live?"
If I face such a state of mind, I stir myself and meditate quietly and deliberately.
I take a stock of my options. I recognize, with absolutely no need to feel shame, that I need help. And I seek it out, knowing that depression can be cured, as thousands of others can happily testify.
My task is to look at my life. I see what it may seem to be, and then I consider what is really is. It can seem to be unbearable or, at least, not worth any effort.
But is there really nothing, absolutely nothing, redeeming about life? In response, I'm sure to find at least one blessing I enjoy.
Perhaps it's no more than the peace of solitude, or the warmth of the sun, or someone's smile, or a tasty meal. I dwell on even the slightest positive aspects of life. I savor it and let it take over my feelings.
With that beginning, I see that life is not so much an effort as a gift. It is the gift bestowed on me by All Good, whose life is my very being.
I welcome that Life now and embrace and embody it

Sort:  

This is good advice, there are always blessings. :-)