Dispatch 001: Welcome, Steemit!

in #life6 years ago

IMG_1666.JPG

About a week ago I found out about Steemit. I could not fall asleep that night. I could not believe that such network/project exists for so long and I had no idea about it. Secondly, I was ecstatic knowing that we live in times where such paradigm can even exist. I work for with a few blockchain companies and it's hard for me to be surprised with any blockchain novelties at this point but Steemit is a blow of a fresh air. Hands down. After all those years of complaining that content or journalism are dead, there is now new hope. New incentive for people to express how they want, not how they need to in order to please advertisers. Advertising for sure corrupted our passions, motivations and ways of expression. Thank you for being here, Steem!

So who am I? I am a Berlin-based designer who spends working hours on UI and UX for blockchain projects here and post-working hours on calligraphy, perfume making, drawing etc... If there is any time left in the day, I enjoy vlogging and podcasting about what goes through my mind.

A few weeks ago I found out that around August I will become a father. I can't really say that I fully got in terms with it. No, I am still processing this information. Bit by bit. I am very excited but also afraid as fuck. I did a fair bit of notes in my private diary about the transition from a lazy coward with commitment issues, to [ideally] the opposite of that. I will soon release it all as a blog or vlog series that contemplates my (our) journey.

As you can see, I decided to keep this page quite honest and open. Well, it's easy when you decide to be anonymous. Yeah, I know, if you put some time into it, you will be able to figure my real identity. I am fine with that too. As I am adding more photos and references from my life, things will seem very transparent. There will be no privacy in the future so why should I bother. This used to freak me out a lot in the past. I used to be very protective of my privacy. Especially when being discovered by family and work friends comes into play. Now, I no longer care. I think times have changed. There is so much content out there, I would not make my parents read this even if I would share the link with them.

Conscious_Monkeys.png
The name Conscious Monkeys comes from Joe Rogan’s bit. We is one of my biggest role models. A father figure I wish I had. I used to use this name as my eCommerce project that failed (numerous times), then name for the newsletter (that nobody signed up for), title of the Podcast (that only 5 people listen to), a vlog (with core audience in Southeast Asia). Conscious Monkeys really resonates with me somehow. I like it's sound and simplicity. It just stands for everything I do and what refers to a human condition, society, visual and verbal communication.

What to expect? I can't promise I will be posting every day, but I will try to. The idea is to pour a fairly raw stream of thoughts, emotions, visual and sonic artefacts that day or night brought in. I began to journal a few weeks ago and I really like it as an exercise for the mind. I don't like to edit it as I like the spontaneity of the process. So please be patient and forgiving. All of it is meant to be raw and honest. Take it or leave it.

If you do enjoy it, please let me know. I would love to hear from you and interact in a meaningful way. I suck with the community in the real life. I am surrounded by a bunch of random people with whom I can't really talk with. Then after work, I want to either be by myself and decompress. Or spend time with my girlfriend (and soon baby). Does it sound familiar in any way?

This post is just to say hello. More will follow soon.

Peace.
W.

Sort:  

welcome to steemit! Its never too late to join!

Keep posting...i like your open and honest way of blogging!

Have fun! I follow you and upvoted!

Thank you! I am glad you are here.

Welcome to steemit sir!

Welcome! Well, It took a week of patiently refreshing my inbox. I finally got that magical password :)
Fun and real work begins NOW.

Welcome to steem! Like you I came upon steem recently and am very excited about the future for this platform! There is a lot to learn and I'm constantly exploring the ends and outs of how it works! One thing you'll find is that steem is still quite small (growing fast) and surprisingly influenced by a relatively small group and is somewhat "gamed". That will change as the critical mass of people is reached (I think steem is close to that point now). That said, this early stage is an opportunity that won't last forever so let your enthusiasm carry you forward.

Interesting story. I recently texted a friend who does YouTube videos. I told him that steem was the future and he needed to check it out. He texted back saying that he had setup a steem account two years ago and that it didn't work for him. I said you were so early there wasn't anybody using it (he was probably one of the first 10,000 users and didn't even realize it!). If he had stayed with he would probably be one of the whales now. Anyhow, it is still early but not so early you'll lose interest like he did. I think he'll be back on now.

Thank you for your elaborate comment! I appreciate this immensely.
Yes, I also do recognize this momentum here. I am also very hopeful that community on Steemit will remain very healthy and will eliminate those who want to gain the system and compromise the content.

Do you remember early days of Youtube? Were you around? Before Google bought it. It was not possible not to be seen on the platform. There were newsletters that would discuss almost every upload in the week :) It's hard to imagine it today. Back then people had very little understanding what this platform could do for them.

Thanks for your input!

Love how real this is, and the conscious monkey idea.

Thank you!
There was never time to be more honest and real. Incentives are changing. Privacy goes away and advertisers can start panicking :)

welcome to steemit have a good time

I already do :)
It is a honour to be here with you.

Hello! Welcome!

Hi! I feel like on the first day of the internet. This platform feels like a big leap towards a beautiful new world

Is Conscious Monkeys from the "Stoned Apes" podcast?

no :) Do they use this reference?
It was dropped by Joe Rogan once and I could not shake it off :) I had to claim it :)
I will check the 'Stoned Apes' podcast too :) it looks promising!

Prepare to be mind!@#$ed. It's about shrooms! I'll link it:

He's a bad ass in many ways. I'm coming around on him. I've been following a lot of martial arts and combat positions and theory, just online stuff.

I think it has great applications in terms of canine communication. The pressure that various stances and movements put on opponents is valid for moving dogs on a big field.

Wonderful introduction. I also have a fear of commitment and the idea of being a parent is terrifying. Passed on a lot of relationships due to my nature to want to travel a lot.

Been spending a year going to work and coming home. Nights off on the computer. Sounds very familiar man. Good to meet ya