An Exciting Reptile Birthday PartyTheme ! A DIY reptile theme at home

in #life6 years ago (edited)

An Exciting Reptile Birthday Party Theme!


20171015_113727.jpg

images.jfif
Happy Birthday!!

Usually we like to keep it simple on birthdays and celebrate with close family, cake and presents. Unfortunately, this year we wouldn’t be able to have had the privilege to celebrate with them... (they all live overseas!)
Recently it was my son’s birthday and we really wanted to do something extra exciting for him this year and invite all our great close friends and his classmates. I pushed my limits and knew that this was the perfect time for me to start the fun and creativity and set up a DIY Birthday theme at home! I thought right away about the perfect birthday theme for him: a REPTILE PARTY THEME! Since he adores animals, especially reptiles 😊
What a fun party for a little boy (or girl!) There are so many cute and creative reptile ideas that I love!
I admit, it took a lot of planning, since this was my first time trying this out and arranging everything for such a big party, but it was definitely worth it. We had about 35 people over! 19 of them were kids, so the planning was not only to entertain the children but adult friends as well! With all that, I had a great time being creative and arranging it all, and even better- my son was in it too, so it got him even more pumped up and excited and loved helping me out with choosing and buying all kinds of things for his birthday. 😊

For the overall colour theme

We decorated the outdoor area mostly with the colours orange and green (mostly by balloons and tablecloths)
We put all the snacks on one table in small / medium sized bowls and labelled each treat with a reptile theme:
‘beetle wings’ for chips, ‘snake pit’ for gummy snakes, ‘snake eyes’ for grapes on sticks, the raisins got a roll as “dried ants”, and apparently the kids favourite was : the “turtle poop” (which they thought was especially amusing!)

Some more ideas for treats and centrepieces for edible decorations:


Adult "Entertainment"


‘A way to a man’s heart is through his stomach’
We knew the best way to entertain our guest friends was with food! :) We wanted to give a taste of something different than what they are used to here in Australia. So we decided to give them a taste of good authentic Middle Eastern food!
We set up a large buffet table in the house and placed all our favourite middle eastern dishes from: pitas, tehina, hummus, shakshuka, chopped salad, brown boiled eggs, fried eggplant and more.
This table was always busy!


Hot tasty Shakshuka at the center of the table

The Sabich


Sabih Pic Source

My husband was teaching everyone how to put together a 'Sabich' pita sandwich-'Sabich' is a pita sandwich stuffed with fried eggplant slices, a hard-boiled egg (I love cooking them until they are brown), Israeli pickles, chopped salad, hummus and topped with a bit of tahini and Amba (a spicy mango sauce)
this is what it looks like after putting it together:

It's sooooo delicious!!

Kids Entertainment-


To keep the kids busy and entertained, we invited an instructor/wildlife ranger to present some of Australia’s amazing reptiles and educate about them. He filled our house with snakes-pythons (with a chance of holding them!), lizards, a small croc, turtles, tarantula, frogs, etc… and gave us a fantastic show! He had my son stand by him and be his ‘little helper’ the whole time, which made him feel even more special. I definitely recommend having such an activity- not only did the kids love it but our friends were fascinated as well! I couldn’t help but secretly took pictures of their reactions and their moments of “feeling like a child again” 😊 Lol!

THE CAKE-


After the reptile entertainment was over we had the birthday cake. I modeled the cake after a design I found on Pinterest by: bestcakeideas.club.
AHHHH! … that cake.... I REALLY pushed my limit there and challenged myself with this cake!!! I have NEVER made any layered cake, nor used piping, frostings or colours! I learned it all through soooo many videos I’ve watched on the net a few days before! It took me a very long time to make and I almost gave up, but having said that, in the end, I was very pleased with the outcome😊 Especially since I learned it all from scratch a few days earlier!!

This is my reptile/bug cake:

>

For the bugs - I melted chocolate and with a toothpick I drew chocolate insects on a baking sheet (I found this on ‘Pinterest’ – at: chocolate bugs . I cut M&Ms to pieces that would fit and decorate them, placed it in the freezer and voila! – homemade chocolate bugs. I also added a few plastic toy insects (after giving them a nice wash) to make it more colourful.

Party Favors!


The party favors were alot of fun!
We handed out bubble wands during the party, so bubbles were floating all around and the kids just loved them!

And to end it all with a nice treat- each child received before he/she left a kinder egg in a cone wrapped in cellophane wrapping and a ribbon, with a few little surprise treats inside (a gummy snake, m&ms, a plastic toy bug and a mini lolly-pop hidden in the cone. I also got this idea through ‘Pinterest’ at: Cone party favor and I really enjoyed putting it all together. So simple and a really cute DIY gift 😊


Kinder egg in a cone party favor

It was definitely a great happy and exciting day!
My son couldn’t stop taking about it and that alone was good enough for me! 😊

Thank you for reading,I hope you enjoyed!

Pictures from the party are original and mine, taken with my super professional camera- on my Galaxy 7 phone:)

For more about me you can checkout My intro post #1 and: My intro post #2

Please don't forget to UPVOTE, FOLLOW @cooknbake and RESTEEM if you enjoyed :)

Thank you all for your comments upvotes and support!

See you soon!

Much love

@cooknbake

The Alliance.png

Sort:  

That is a really cool cake and quite the spread of food! Well done!

Thanks @mikeshuh! That cake took alot of energy from me !!😂 but was worth it:)
Thanks for ur comment and support!🤗

Wow!! What an awesome party spread. Very clever as well!! You'd find me at the kids table all day eating turtle poop!

Lol!😄 apparently the poop was the highlight for the kids😆 so ur still a kid at heart👌!
Thanks for the great comment @bmj!!

Wow,I want taste.

woaww

😂 Haha!!! Loooove that giphy! (And Will Smith!!) Thanks for that!😁

Good posting.

Thank you!!🤗

Happy celebrating Australia Day for Australians. I am glad as a steemian can read interesting stories about Australia day. I wait for other interesting stories.

Some of the information I read, there are interesting activities to be done on australia day.

i also have a little story about australia day that i have post in my blog. Please visit my blog @revitarahim and I am waiting for upvote and resteem

Happy-Australia-Day-Wishes-Clipart.jpg

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by cooknbake from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

It's a very cool and unique birthday cake.

Thank you@maryahoc!

You are welcome

I remember when I used to host birthday parties for children. Being a party host is really a lot of fun.

Its alot of planning (especially the first party u host with so many people at home!) But its definately fun and worth it in the end😁 great memories🤗
Thank you for reading and commenting @christianyocte!

You sure did have a lot of fun.

I love how you managed to make a separate means of 'entertainment' for the adults and the kids. And that seems like a really fun time even when the planning might have taken a while, but I think it was fun planning it with your son :)
Belated happy birthday to him btw :)

Hi @themarshann🤗
Yes, the planning took a while! A long while 😅 but It was fun, especially since it involved my son and it made him so excited and really look forward to his birthday😁
Thank you for the lovely comment and birthday wish! See you around here soon!

This is my first time seeing such kind of extraordinary preparation for kid's birthday. It manifest how much you love your kid. I admire you. You really did research to bring this occasion into memorable celebration that your kid would never forget. Making our kids happy is really good enougn for us!

Yes, this time I really went overboard with what I did at his birthday, compared to what we usually do😄 but I really wanted something special for him, since we didnt do it with family this time ... I really enjoyed it and was very pleased (and surprised !!) With the outcome!
Definately memorable day for all of us 😁

Everything looks amazing, sounds like a party I'd like to join :D