You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Chasing The Meaning Of Life's Coattails

in #life • 2 years ago

😥

Big Dog. I'm so sorry. Losing a dog is about as hard as it gets.

Congratulations on your new crew, though. Hopefully they don't eat your other family members.

Sort:  

Thanks. Big Dog was one of a kind, that's for sure. For some reason when I went to the shelter I had it in my head that I was going to find another one like him. Of course that wasn't going to happen.

My chickens and rabbits concur. I have had him 2 weeks now, and I'd say he is twenty percent better. Unfortunately I think using just positive reinforcement, this is going to be a long haul. But I suppose that is to be expected. He is the oldest dog I have ever adopted, and he is totally different than any experience I have ever had. He has baggage, that's for sure.

Slimy, ropey, wet baggage.
Maybe being older he's about to slow way down and give up chasing the "game." He might only be doing it because he thinks it will please you..?

He seems quite hard-wired. We shall see. He may turn out to be my foster dog rather than my adopted dog. I certainly won't dump him off at a shelter, but after a bit more time if he doesn't get better I will be looking for a critter-free home for him.

That makes sense. You both need to be a good fit for each other. In the meantime, I'm sure he's happy to not be a neglected hunting dog and not be in a shelter.