The Power of Impact

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Making an impact is what it takes to turn the world upside down. Good or bad, having an impact is what changes everything. Using your impact for the benefit of others will give them, and you, a better life. Having a loving heart toward people will make them trust you. This will leave an impact on them in so many ways. That, in itself will gain us all a better community.

During my life, I've been involved in so much and met so many people. The first I want to mention is my wonderful wife that I've been with for three years now. The love that she has for me, words can't express. The impact she has had on me makes me want to do so much for her. I want to work hard to give her a great life. I want to change her life in so many ways.

I've been studying martial arts for twenty years. During this time I met a man named Jim, who was like a father to me. He had studied for many years, going all the way up to earning his fourth-degree black belt. He, along with his son, Mikey, got me into the best schools. Together we travelled all over the place competing in tournaments. I spent many a day at his house, training with them for hours. Another man who had a big impact in my life was Mr. O., who owned his own martial arts school. Not only did he take me under his wing in teaching me his fighting style, he also taught me to teach others. After a little over a year, he put me in charge of his second location as the head instructor. I was so excited to be living a life long dream.

Next, I want to mention my parents. They adopted me when I was a year and a half old. The love they have shown me as their own flesh and blood has been incredible. They've done so much for me they didn't have to do. The best thing they did for me was getting me into church. When I was a teen, my mom said I was going to church. This didn't go over too well with me. I told her I wasn't going there to become a mindless zombie, but I went, and I accepted Jesus Christ as my saviour in a fundamental baptist church. That is what real impact can do!

So many people have had an impact on me, there is not time to list them all. Now, I want to do the same for others. I have my own martial arts students that I teach everything I know. I want to pass down my knowledge of the martial arts to as many people as possible. For years at my church I helped and taught the youth group. Now I want to become an elementary teacher to make an impact on the next generation.