You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Thoughts about life on a sunny Sunday morning and wonderful music from Allegri

in #life6 years ago

I went to bed last night thinking about those in danger and who are being hurt as I pulled my covers up feeling safe from harm.

I thought about our Steemit friends who live on the borders of Syria too and worried about them. I prayed for those trying to escape and hoped for safety for them.

We will always have war unfortunately. And the poor and the sick and the dying. We can only help where we can. There is always the question WHAT - what can I do.

Where I live we had about 3,000 refugees last year. Canada has brought in so many I'm not sure of the number and they have spread across the country to different provinces. Life is not easy for them even when they land here. Jobs are scarce. Language is a barrier. Time is not on their side for getting their lives in order to survive without assistance. I feel for them. Many are educated but not on par with Canadian law.

I don't understand why international laws or leaders don't remove these dictators.

I even read on a Steemit post where the person didn't believe these poor people were poisoned - no proof he cited. And that everyone who believed they were poisoned were being lied to. It's awful

I don't blame you for your sadness regarding these things @clio. I understand. I feel the same way too. It brings perspective to our lives for sure.

These people are just like you and me. They have families and dreams and hopes. I'm listening to your beautiful music as I write. I love this music - it reminds me of the old latin masses I attended as a little girl....singing in the choir.

Thanks for writing what many of us are feeling.

Sort:  

I thought of your first sentence. We live in countries where you are safe in your own home and you do not have to be afraid of a knock on the door and for the secret service that takes you to prison and tortures you for your beliefs or actions. Of course, there can be a burglar or something similar, but I mean the security of a more or less democratic country. I did not mention this in my post, but when I read your comments, I figured out what a blessing it is that we do not have to be afraid of something like that.
We also have many refugees in the Netherlands. Many people help them to adapt (Dutch is also a difficult language) but there are also people, even a political party, who want to get them all out of the country because 'they steal our jobs and live off welfare'. Crazy, of course, but they really believe it and do not want to share our relative wealth with people in need. No, they call them rapists and thieves.
They do not believe that these people, like you said, are just like you and me and that we want to meet nice, helpful people in the same circumstances.