You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Apparently this is about Golfing on Mushrooms?

in #life3 years ago

Going in the woods is the best therapy. I often do wonder what people really feel and are outside of this. Beyond the words and a pretty post. It is easy to become addicted to this and I like it when I see people who realize this.
Often life goes on pretty well even without the mightiest presence, so being offline is not as dangerous as it would seem for others. If you are not active, do you matter anymore?

I once wondered if you can create while you consume. Content. Internet. Entertainment. Everything. Consuming means spending a lot of time glued to a piece of plastic. I find it healthy and even necessary to disconnect once in a while to realize that being user X means nothing in the grand scheme of things.

Sort:  

People fear losing everything they've 'achieved' and all their 'connections' so some also fear leaving. People addicted to heroin fear feeling sick so continue to feed their addiction. Addiction naturally creates fear of stopping.

My first break from all this, years ago, caused inner turmoil. I was worried for a time the people I valued would think I no longer care about them. As if I turned my back on them. But eventually, and after coming back along with taking several breaks since then I've realized if you attract genuine and loyal folks, they will remain that way. Only one member here ever complained and insulted me for taking a break on my own terms. That individual turned out to be somewhat evil anyway so it's a bonus to shake those kind of people off, especially when you don't have to do or say anything to them to get rid of them.

And I've always found it difficult to create my own thing or think my own way when others are busy doing it for me as I consume. A balance is necessary, for me anyway.

when you don't have to do or say anything to them to get rid of them.
This is the perfect way to dust yourself off and shake the bad people, elegantly and without any energy wasting.
I do believe in loyalty a lot and I think that making someone's absence all about you is wrong as people have so many worries and inner wars that the "audience" has no clue about. When people disappear it is almost never about the others as about them and seeing things from this perspective would definetely alleviate a lot of hurt egos.
Absence can clear the air and in some aspects I see it as necessary. If you spend too much time in a spot you start to believe that this is all it can be. This is why some people take offence or never leave, because this is all they can be at that point. I wonder what they could be otherwise