Beach Wednesday - A Terramar Sunset Photo Essay

in #life7 years ago

I absolutely love the beach!

When I came across this lovely article —

Beach Wednesday - Hendry's Beach (from June 2016)

— by @pyrowngs today, I was reminded of this series of sunset photos that I took a few weeks ago.

This is my favorite beach in the universe.

I have probably spent more time, made more friends (surfer and otherwise), and had more joy-filled moments here than anywhere else.

My Home Break Beach, Carlsbad

My Home Break Beach, Carlsbad
Original Work by @creatr

After a lovely surf-session last month,

my granddaughter and I walked over to the cliffs to watch the sunset. If you scroll down, you can share that experience with us.

Sunset At My Home Break (0)

Sunset At My Home Break (0)
Original Work by @creatr

As you watch the sun sink in the west,

notice the happy surfers paddling out and riding the waves in.

And don't leave just yet when the sun goes down...

Sunset At My Home Break (1)

Sunset At My Home Break (1)
Original Work by @creatr

Sunset At My Home Break (2)

Sunset At My Home Break (2)
Original Work by @creatr

Sunset At My Home Break (3)

Sunset At My Home Break (3)
Original Work by @creatr

Sunset At My Home Break (4)

Sunset At My Home Break (4)
Original Work by @creatr

Sunset At My Home Break (5)

Sunset At My Home Break (5)
Original Work by @creatr

Sunset At My Home Break (6)

Sunset At My Home Break (6)
Original Work by @creatr

Sunset At My Home Break (7)

Sunset At My Home Break (7)
Original Work by @creatr

But wait! Don't leave yet!

Although the City of Carlsbad keeps fencing off the cliffs for safety reasons, we clever and determined people keep figuring out how to defeat the fences and walk the cliffs anyhow.

As we walk along the cliffs, we are very cautious not to get too close to the precarious edge. From time to time, sections of the unusable cliff faces collapse, or are washed away.

Don't slip and fall down a crevasse!

Don't slip and fall down a crevasse!

Don't slip and fall down a crevasse!
Original Work by @creatr

There is even more beauty to be seen here.

We stop to take a closer look at some of the beautiful flowers growing along the cliff-top path. It seems as if someone must have planted succulent ground cover, and it appears to thrive here.

Beautiful flowers grow along the cliff's edge.

Beautiful flowers grow along the cliff's edge.
Original Work by @creatr

Here's a close-up for your enjoyment.

You can almost smell them.

You can almost smell them.
Original Work by @creatr

On any given day that I go to the beach,

getting out of the water and bidding farewell to the waves is the hardest thing that I have to do.

So long for now, waves...

So long for now, waves...
Original Work by @creatr

Thank you for joining me.

I hope you've enjoyed this sunset on Beach Wednesday.


~FIN~


Thanks for your time and attention.
You are why I'm here on Steemit!
I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about them all.


⬇️To Check Out @creatr's World⬇️CLICK Each Image Below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr
Sort:  

I have camped at Carlsbad many times. It is one of our favorite camp grounds as well. Sunsets are Beautiful and always fun to watch the surfers.

Yes, this beach is just a little ways north of the campgrounds. Golden! :)

So, beach, sunset, flowers....oh, and throw in some surfers.. we have it all here. Looks like a great place.

Yep. The whole package. A full deck. Loaded. :) A great place indeed! ;)

Beautiful photos! Thanks for sharing!

You're welcome! :)

Beach Out Of Reach!!!😕

I resemble that remark... Not quite out of reach, but too far away...

I definitely need to move closer! :) :D

That is a beautiful sunset :)

Thank you, dear! Yes, it was! :D

Beautiful shots. I grew up next to the ocean. Seeing shots like this remind me of my childhood :)

Hello, friend @acromott!

Thank you. Glad to bring back happy memories.

So, where did you grow up? :)
Oh, and welcome to Steemit! Looks like you're off to a good start... :D

Grew up in Huntington Beach, CA until I was about ten or eleven.
My mom did home daycare when I was growing up. She would take my all the daycare kids , my brother and I to the beach almost everyday.

Yeah, I have been posting acroyoga content everyday on steemit! Its been fun! :)

That's my goal... Get to the beach every day! :)

Do you think you'll ever move back near the ocean?

I would love too. Hopeful with in the next 3-5 years

Oh that is an awesome beach! Great pics of the sunset! Man I need to metal detect that beach! I KNOW there is gold rings there just waiting to be picked up!!

There most likely are... and I don't recall ever seeing anyone there with a detector! Come on down! :D

Lovely to see your images of the coastal plant and flower life. And the beautiful progression of the sun setting. 💙 🌺🌀 🌺💙

Thank you very much, @allyinspirit! :)

I stayed at Boomerang Bay, a beach about 400 kms north of Sydney recently and was able to photograph some of the ocean life in the rock pools there, when it was really low tide. Have a photograph of a brilliant red starfish I'd love to share sometime. 🌟

We'd love to see it! :)

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of May 17. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $11.68 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: May 17 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

As ever, thank you...

Very nice photo series. The sunsets are gorgeous...like the progression. Looks like a great day out at the beach. Then again, most days at the beach are pretty great. I wrote about the green flash today. Have you ever seen it at sunset out there?

I've only seen THE green flash once in my life. It was at dusk on the western side of Australia, on the coast of Kalbarri National Park, 485 kms from Perth. It was truly A💚M💚A💚Z💚I💚N💚G

Hi, @ddschteinn!

I have looked and looked and looked for the green flash, with no success! :O

But even not seeing that has never ruined a good day at the beach! :D

I agree, there is not much that can ruin a day at the beach. I think the flash only happens with just the right conditions, and the weather has to be very clear, with no haze, etc, as I understand it. Keep looking, one day soon it will happen. (It's hard to keep your eyes open for so long while staring at the sun...)

Thank you my friend, for your interaction and your encouragement. I will keep looking for that flash! :)