Deeper Introduction- Martial arts background & going to the Muhammad Ali funeral in Louisville, KY

in #life6 years ago

I'll start off with my kickboxing and tae kwon do background. My parents are both black belts and owned a tae kwon do studio for a period of time. This means that I started doing tae kwon do when I was about 5 years old. On and off, I've been in martial arts for roughly half of my life.

10418944_10202514520176185_2388684309171391814_n.jpg

Undoubtedly, kickboxing and martial arts have been a large part of my life. On June 3rd, 2016 it was around 11pm when I heard the breaking news of Muhammad Ali's death and decided I would drive down to his memorial.

The main reason I wanted to go was because I had a friend who went to Prince's memorial a few months earlier. I really wanted to go with her when she announced on facebook she was driving to Paisley Park. I was shy and did not ask to join her carpool. After seeing the pictures from her once in a lifetime experience, I was upset with myself that I didn't ask to go. I'm sure she would have let me join.

So, upon hearing of Ali's passing, I knew I was driving to Louisville in a few hours. It's about 7 hours away from where I live in Wisconsin. I was feeling crazy! I decided on a whim to drive 7 hours. Alone and without knowing what I would do when I arrived!

I just knew it would be worth it.

The first place I decided to go to was the Muhammad Ali Center.

Scan0001.jpg

If you are ever in Louisville, KY definitely check out the Muhammad Ali Center there. It was exciting learning about Ali's poetry and other things you probably didn't know about "The Greatest".

The Muhammad Ali Center's outside memorial was quickly growing and I was able to talk to lots of people. I somehow found out that the Ali family would be at his childhood home thanking the fans. I got the address and headed towards the childhood house to get a tour and give condolences to the family.

Scan0002.jpg

It was awesome seeing all the media and people in front of Ali's childhood house. This was only about 12 hours after the news broke that Ali died. I had heard some of the family members, like his daughter were just booking their flights to Louisville. The family members that were there were his brother Rahman Ali and some nieces and nephews. Also, many Nation of Islam members. Some of the Nation of Islam members were friends with Ali since he joined.

Standing in line took a long time, over an hour. It was about 100 degrees! It was really fun talking to the people in line. The majority of people were locals. The best thing was, I didn't know I was standing in line next to a Nation of Islam member who was close to the Ali's. He had never seen the childhood home either. I was telling him about how I've known who Muhammad Ali practically my whole life because of my parents, and some of the traveling I've done. We talked about Ali's refusal to enter the war, and then found out we had some political beliefs in common. This was the man who told me, "Remember me when I told you Trump's going to win." Man was he right! It was a really great conversation. I guess that's what made him offer me seeing a private house that the Ali's owned a few houses down. They kept a private house for interviews, meetups, and I believe staying in Louisville.

Before I went over to the private house owned by the family, I was able to take a tour of the childhood home. I still can't believe I was let into the private house with the Nation of Islam members, and the Ali nieces and nephews. It was awesome!

It was a tiny little house. The doors were open and everyone was packed in such a small area with lighting equipment and cameras. It was humid! I was sitting out of view of the cameras, next to some older women. It was a surreal experience. I couldn't believe it! NBC was interviewing a Nation of Islam person who joined with Ali back in the 60's. Next they were interviewing the nieces and nephews about the first time they realized who their uncle was.

I'm not sure how I ended up leaving, but it was wonderful.

The first time I was in the childhood home Ali's brother Rahman Ali was on break. He had been thanking the fans all day. So, I was really grateful that this Nation of Islam member I met besides letting me witness some interviews, made sure I got to talk to Rahman Ali.

I talked to Rahman about how Parkinson's disease must have been difficult on the family. My mom's a hospice nurse and takes care of Parkinson's patients. I was so honored to be able to give some condolences; and like everyone else, tell him how influential his brother was. I learned that Rahman was a boxer as well, and he signed my boxing gloves!

Scan0004.jpg

I returned to Wisconsin a changed person! I was super excited to return later in the week for the funeral procession. After doing some googling, I found a quote from Ali that was fitting for me to wear a science dress I had.

"It's all science. I go into conference with myself and then I prophesy. You start with the thought and then you turn it into reality; like the scientist figured out how to make the jet before he built it." - Cassius Clay 1964

Scan0006.jpg

The day before the funeral procession, a Jenazah prayer service was held.

Scan0009.jpg

Sugar Ray Leonard was in the crowd taking pictures with fans. Also, I believe Keith Urban and Nicole Kidman were in attendance. I was just so excited when I heard that Cat Stevens was a pall bearer!

Scan0007.jpg

The funeral ceremony was held at the KFC stadium. I was unable to get a free ticket to the stadium. I heard that while people lined up for the ticket booths to open the crowds were chanting, "ALI! ALI! ALI!" like they were in line for tickets to his boxing match!

Someone said that it was for his boxing match in heaven! Hahaha. :)

I watched the funeral service from a nearby place with projectors. All the stories people had about Ali were heartwarming. The man truly was a legend, no doubt.

One of the best stories I was told was by a man who's 8th grade graduation was going on across the street from where Ali was eating. When the kids found out that Ali was across the street they all left their graduation to get his autograph. Ali's personal entourage was shoo-ing the kids away, but Ali said that it was all right. There must have been about 100 kids outside the restaurant waiting for his signature. They were pulling out any pieces of paper they could find. Ali, made sure to give every single kid a signature, even when his meal was interrupted! This man says, he will never forget that!

Scan0008.jpg

This impromptu trip was one of the best experiences in my whole life. I know that this will never happen again. Some celebrity deaths are not to be missed! There's that saying, "you only live once". Well, you only die once too!

If I didn't state this earlier, I'm really thankful to the Ali's being the gracious and humble people that they are. I wish I knew the name of the Nation of Islam man I met in line. It really was because of him that I had one of the most memorable events of my life.

Just everyone in the crowds were so great and truly there to celebrate the life of an amazing man.

muhammad-ali-current-and-former-cowboys-honor-the-legend-2.jpg

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Very awesome! Way to follow your faith and passion and get to experience something amazing! Pretty crazy what doors the Universe (God) opens up for us when we start blindly on that path!

Hello And Welcome To Steemit!

It is a platform like none other. You can get to know people from all over the world. If you continue to post great informative content you will grow a following in no time!

Start following some authors that post good content and upvote them as well. Follow Me! Make some friends and you will be well on your way to earning some nice curation rewards and growing your following.

Best Of Luck!
Spencer Coffman
Read My Latest Article: 7 Must-Have Apps

love your post brother since im into MMA as well.
Im happy see some blogs about martial arts since there are a few steemians who post about sports or martial arts!
thanks for sharing brother!
upvoted!

This post has received a 0.70 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @crypto-maven.

You got a 77.62% upvote from @votebuster courtesy of @crypto-maven!

Thank you crypto-maven for making a transfer to me for an upvote of 0.98% on this post!

Half of your bid goes to @budgets which funds growth projects for Steem like our top 25 posts on Steem!

The other half helps holders of Steem power earn about 60% APR on a delegation to me!

For help, will you please visit https://jerrybanfield.com/contact/ because I check my discord server daily?

To learn more about Steem, will you please use http://steem.guide/ because this URL forwards to my most recently updated complete Steem tutorial?

What a heart-warming story! I saw Mohammed Ali at the airport in LA once. I was flying back from Michigan to El Toro, CA where I was stationed in the Marines. He had just gotten off the plane from a red eye flight and looked a little rough, but even then his presence was amazing. Unfortunately, I never got to talk to him or get his autograph, but I was blessed just to have seen him in person.