The Weight Of The Glass .... ( An Inspiration To Many)

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Source

I heard about this inspiration from one of my colleagues and as soon as I heard it, I decided to follow it.  So here it goes:

 Once upon a time a psychology professor walked around on a stage while teaching stress management principles to an auditorium filled with students.  As she took a glass of water, everyone expected they’d be asked the typical “glass half empty or full” question.  Instead, the professor asked something different like this, “How heavy is this glass of water I’m holding?”

Students raised the answers ranging from few ounces to few grams . Then she replied, “From my perspective, the absolute weight of this glass doesn’t matter.  It all depends on how long I hold it.  If I hold it for a minute or two, it’s fairly light.  If I hold it for at least an hour, its weight could make my arm pain a little.  If I hold it for a day consistently, then my arm will likely cramp up and would feel completely numb and paralyzed, forcing me to drop the glass to the floor.  In each case, the weight of the glass never change, but the longer I hold it, the heavier it feels to me.”

All the students nodded their heads in agreement, she continued, "Our stresses and worries in life are very much like this glass of water.  Think about them for a second and nothing would happen.  Think about them a little longer and you'll begin to ache a little.  Think about them for a day straight, and you will feel completely depressed and paralyzed – incapable of doing anything else until you drop them.

The Conclusion

It’s important to remember to let go of your stresses and worries.  No matter what happened to you during the whole day, when it comes to evenings, put all your stress down.  Don’t carry them through the night and into the next day with you.  If you still feel the weight of yesterday’s stress, it’s a strong sign that it’s time to put the glass down. 

This story kinda changed my life and I learned a lot of things from it, especially how to let go my pain and stress. 

When life puts you down, there are only two options you can choose from: Quit and burdened under stress or stand up , forget your worries, try again and give it your best shot.

Now you choose what you'll do, if ever faces with these two choices.

Thanks for reading guys. I do love all your support Steemians. 

Love

@cryptonet

Sort:  

Hi! I am a robot. I just upvoted you! I found similar content that readers might be interested in:
https://www.facebook.com/LecokaCafeHouse