You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What Do I Do for a Living?

in #life7 years ago

Excellent article and you raise some very valid points.

If I meet someone for the first time, there are two questions I refuse to answer : "What do you do?" and "Where are you from?". My reasoning behind this is that if they talk to me for 10 minutes then both become clear anyway, and if they don't, then they don't need to know. I have met some graduate students who will ask "what do you do?" and you can almost see the calculators working overtime in their brain. These are the exact same people who will sit down and have animated discussions about how much various jobs pay.

Also, you are not defined by your job. And why do you necessarily have to do one thing? You don't. I do several different things, which don't necessarily overlap. As long as you are happy, that is the main thing.

Sort:  

Amennnnn and thank you so much for reading it.

I totally understand that and I did that for a part of my life. And then I was like how can I turn this into positivity so now I use that one line and holy smokes does it inspire change. Good or bad but at least its change. It might feel bad at the time but that's all part of the learning process.

Amen you are not and I don't know why people think that their job defines them. why put yourself in a box like that and limit yourself.

Appreciate you, really do.

God bless.

Namaste :)

No problem - I'm glad I'm not the only one that thinks like that!
At the end of the day, jobs come and go - but people are still the same... ;-)

Amennnnnnn wow I really like that.

And one of the reasons I love Steemit so many like-minded souls on here it's incredible.