A Virus Can Ruin Your Day -- My Attempt to Survive the Winter and Flu?

in #life6 years ago

influenza-156098_1280.png

Sickness Ain't Pretty

Yesterday was the day I've felt the crappiest--IN MY LIFE. After having driven two hours back to my home, I found myself feeling a flurry of symptoms that I found COULD have been the flu. Although unsure, since the sickness lasted only one HORRIBLE DAY AND NIGHT, it got me thinking.

Let me tell you a bit more about what I experienced to get my thoughts into perspective.

Throughout the drive, I felt extremely warm even though the temperature in the car was at 75 Fahrenheit meanwhile, the outside temperature was around 20. As I drove home, I had some fever which I only assumed was because of the thick jacket I had. As I got home, I knew it was worse than that.

I got home and laid in bed.

medications-257349_1920.jpg

Signs and Symptoms Are Some Serious S#!T

I didn't know what my body temperature was, but I did know it was high. My hands were cold yet my entire body was hot. I thought the best way to describe it was like a steak being inside a BBQ pit, cooking for only a sear, except the steak was my body and the sear was for a long and hard 24 hours.

My hands were shaking a bit, and I found comfort only beneath 2 layers of blankets and a jacket. As the night went on, I tossed and turned for what I thought was eternity, sweating profusely and without any other thought besides the nightmares that went on in my head, likely stemming from the fever.

The worse part was how feeble and lethargic I felt. It, honest to god, scared me.

When I woke up, I felt much, much better. It was like if I frontloaded my sickness and piled it into a terrible 24-hour session in which, what I could only assume, burned the virus within me into tiny bits. A sigh of relief came to me after sleeping for about 12 hours. I was fatigued for the rest of the day after that grill-fest.

Which lead me to a thought...

If I felt this sick and absolutely hated every second of it and thought that only death could help me, what am I doing to my body that later on will get me feeling like this for YEARS.

Maybe, Taking Care of Myself Can Give Me Peace of Mind?

I'm thinking of eating healthier. I'm afraid that a future illness such as congestive heart failure or diabetes, a common trait amongst my family members, will happen to me and lead to a terrible standard of living. I've decided to begin a slow path to eating healthier and taking care of my body. If I couldn't bear living for 24 hours due to a virus I picked up, how could I choose to continue life habits that could lead me to a terminal illness such as cancers that can occur due to lifestyle habits.

I won't let it happen. It's truly a horror for me. We never really know what we fear until we get a taste of it. And let me tell you, that taste was fucking horrible.

Hope that you enjoyed the thoughts. If you have anything to add or simply want to drop a friendly comment, please leave one below; I'll be sure to respond. Thanks!