Let's talk about solipsism

in #life7 years ago

You know you exist, but how sure are you that I exist? That if you saw me walking down the street, what you think of as me wasn't made up in your mind along with everything else you see?

ben-white-197668.jpg
Ben White

"I think, therefore I am, but you probably exist too!" is not what Descartes Said. Funny thing about that adage, its implication is that you don’t exist... or I don’t exist, depending on who’s perspective we are talking about.

olayinka-babalola-281459 (1).jpgOlayinka Babalola

The problem is that thoughts cannot be examined in any meaningful way by a third party, well at least not yet. So our conscious awareness of our own existence is confirmed only internally, “I think therefore I exist”.

isabell-winter-99831.jpgIsabell Winter

But what does this all mean to you? Well I can’t speak for you but to me, not much. the pursuit of absolute truth through the rigors of reasoning is relatively fruitless.

atlas-green-1507.jpgAtlas Green

I maintain that when it comes to claims that can’t be falsified, it’s best to keep a neutral stance, lest you spend an unreasonable amount of time trying to explain why, just because something can’t be proven false does not automatically make it true.

Sort:  

I maintain that when it comes to claims that can’t be falsified, it’s best to keep a neutral stance

Easier said than done...you wrote this post to be read by OTHERS...(because you really believe they exist)

The claim that no one but i exists IS the claim that can't be falsified, hence my claim is that i put no stock in the claim. the post is a refutation of the idea that simply making a claim that cannot be shown as false makes it true.

I agree. Just because something can't be proven false doesn't make it true, but also just because something can't be proven true, doesn't mean it's false.

Exactly.