Do You Pick Up Pennies? Engaging Blockchain to Develop Abundance Consciousness

in #life6 years ago (edited)

When you are walking and see a shiny coin on the ground, do you bother to bend down and pick it up? I used to on occasion, but I remember always wondering why I bothered. But then two things came into my life that caused a shift toward a seemingly inconsequential act. First, I came across a charming little book called Abundance Consciousness. This is a concept that has been written about by hundreds of people over the years, and I wish I could find the author of the specific book I read, but I gave it away to someone else a long time ago. Anyway, the basic idea of abundance consciousness is to open your self up to receiving whatever you need in life. There are deep, spiritual aspects of this, but there are also very down-to-earth, practical ones as well. One only need consider the opposite concept, poverty consciousness, to understand the practical benefits of simply working to orient oneself toward whatever wealth they desire. When it comes to money, we are often our own worst enemy, with all sorts of negative thoughts about our worth, ability, or right to enjoy it.

IMG_0840.JPG

So I had this concept firmly in my own consciousness, but hadn't necessarily worked out all the ways I defeated my own ability to receive whatever wealth might be begging to land in my pockets, and then the second "thing" came into my life; my wife. My wife is the most frugal person I ever met, literally. When we were dating I wondered if she was from some other planet where everyone acted in such strange ways. She did things like pick up every penny that crossed her path.

I didn't have to ask my wife why she picked up pennies. I knew. She is frugal. She saves every penny she can by doing things like cutting coupons with religious fervor, so she's not about to take a negative hit on her financial strategy by not picking up a penny! On one hand, her behavior was persuasive, as is just about anything a person does when you are actually falling in love with them. But ultimately, I am not a coupon clipper, and it wasn't her attitude toward those pennies that made me a penny picker upper.

The ah-hah moment for me came when my prior meditation on abundance consciousness suddenly overlapped with my wife's impressive discipline and curious behavior. It hit me like a ton of bricks, or pennies from heaven, that to brazenly, arrogantly, stroll over a penny on the sidewalk is probably the single clearest way to tell the Universe to fuck off with all its, "Here, have some free money," bullshit.

Don't get me wrong, I am actually more of a down-to-earth pragmatist than a spiritual monk type. I mean, I am spiritual, and lean toward agnostic while appreciating my atheist friends' opinions, but I certainly believe the Universe is up to something, and I am not about to get in its way, especially when it involves providing me with whatever I need to be happy and healthy.

So what does blockchain have to do with any of this?

Its one thing if you really can't be bothered to pick up a penny. I get it; that penny is worth next to nothing, and in another year it will be worth even less. Some people just are not into the whole the Universe is providing me with everything I totally freaking need bs.

But what if that penny on the ground was worth 10 cents in another year?

Or what if it was worth a dollar in a year?!

Welcome to blockchain, pennies, and an entirely new way of looking at abundance consciousness. Think about this. Whether your are spiritual about these things or pragmatic, you just need to start bending over and grabbing all these pennies! You, the pragmatist know you have a tiny little worry that maybe all the yoga freaks are right, and all your atheist arguments might be wrong. But wait, that doesn't even matter, because in this new scenario, whether you believe in the Mystery of it All, or not, there is this crazy potential for pennies that are free today increasing in value tomorrow. And on top of that, if you start collecting the free pennies that are available, then you are one more person agreeing that those pennies have value in the first place, and thus are helping to make their value increase.

I am kind of amazed how often I hear people on Steemit say they don't know anything about blockchain or cryptoeconomics. I mean, I am not surprised that people find their way here through other avenues, but I came to Steemit after spending many months studying blockchain, so that is just my perspective. But my point is that this lack of awareness of how all this stuff works is interesting, because clearly, anyone investing time and energy in Steemit understands, on some level, the basic concepts of abundance consciousness and compound interest, whether or not they realize it. Blockchain has provided a way for the almost anyone to jump into the investment game in a way that previously only wealthy people had access. For example, I just heard about automobile subscription services, and thought, "Wow, I should buy some stock in one of those companies." But the problem is I would have to be rich to get in on the ground level of a new venture, or wait until an IPO. Blockchain allows anyone with any disposable income at all to back a new idea. Obviously someone living paycheck to paycheck should gamble their next paycheck on some stupid shitcoin, but wealth is certainly a very relative concept, and I would recommend that anyone consider putting 1% of their income into crypto.

But that is a little tangential to my original idea here. Yes, if you can put some income into viable investment that is great (but really, if you're new to this, just set up a Roth IRA to start), but don't let your poverty consciousness prevent you from tapping into the free money that is being offered all over the place.

I recently posts about Sweatcoin, a newish concept that pays you a cryptocurrency for every step you take outside.

Today I want to highlight Mannabase, a Universal Basic Income project that will give you free Manna every week just for signing up. Manna is currently worth 0.0103 USD, and you can collect about 10 Manna every week. Soon you will be able to transfer Manna to anyone else who is signed up, and someday you will likely be able to donate Manna to people or projects anywhere in the world.

Screen Shot 2018-04-23 at 8.54.13 AM.png

The main reason I would encourage anyone to sign up to receive Manna is simply to support the notion of Universal Basic Income. UBI could be the single biggest potential disruptive force of blockchain; allowing anyone to earn real income that can help alleviate the harshest forms of poverty around the world. This is why I also support #SolarCoin. The value of SolarCoin is not super high at the moment, but someday I believe it will have serious impact on the global energy transition. At the same time, it might help my retirement. So I have mentioned three forms of "free" money in this post, and I know there are many more. If you want to support cool initiatives, develop your own practice of abundance consciousness, and potentially make a lot of money, then start signing up for these programs!

Manabase offers a pretty sweet referral bonus. For anyone you sign up, you receive a 100% base UBI bonus for 52 weeks, meaning that if you sing up 10 people in a week, and the UBI for that week is 10 Manna, you then receive 10+100 Manna that week. In addition, anyone that sign up via your referral link also earns a 50% base UBI bonus for 52 weeks.

If you would like to earn a bonus for yourself and me, use my referral link: https://www.mannabase.com/?ref=d97770f966

Sort:  

I just read about the whole penny thing, I forget where. It was like "if you can't bother yourself to pick up a penny or nickel it shows you don't value money." Really finding money is proving you are a money magnet, so I've been picking up change recently whenever I see it, made like .50 so far"

Also in on manna, but I will check the others out.

💵 is 💰! I once watched a waitress I was working with separate all the pennies from her tips and then toss them into the garbage. I gave a funny lecture right on the spot, and she seemed convinced, but then I wondered how many times she had done the same thing. That’s probably the most absurd example I have! Thanks for the comment. Here’s to fostering our happy relationships with moolah :)

Lol, that's ridiculous! The best is when you find a 20 on the ground! Happened once when I was a kid, money just came to me back then, time to get back there.

My grandpa used to give me all the change in his car, he'd save up til I got there, it was like $20+ every time, that's how you save right there. Change adds up, nice post man

I signed up to mannabase also, but your post gave me a good understanding of why I should actually be promoting it more and my referral link. Yes stupid to say but there you have it, sometimes we just don't see the pennies as pennies.

This post has been deemed resteem & upvote worthy by your @ecs (eastcoaststeem) community leaders @chelsea88 & @inthenow

I always pick up any penny I find. It's free money. I am one of those people who came to Steemit without knowing anything about the block chain or crypto-economics. ;0)

Was raised with a poverty consciousness and have been working to transform that in recent years. I had never thought of the message I’m sending when passing over a penny. Changing that today! Also, following your link to check out manna. Thanks!

I tend to pick up pennies/coins as well. I agree with many of your points here. Manna looks promising

I may not pick up a penny, but I will stoop for larger coins. Over the last few years I've played with crypto faucets that pay out tiny amounts. Some of that is worth a bit more now, so it may have been worth my time.

Whenever the Steem price drops this place becomes less active, but I keep on posting as I believe Steem has a good future. That has paid off so far.

I got into Manna when it was still Grantcoin and my wallet is worth a nice amount now. I may end up giving it to charity, but at least I have that option.

Enjoyable and thought provoking read, thanks!

I have a deep hate of advertising, nearly equal to my love of the UBI concept.

These two things getting together in manna sounds like a pyramid-scheme with humanity at the peak, getting corpulently wealthy.

I'll be thinking about this all day lol

I pick up pennies (Stewart Wilde used to recommend that, too ;)) and once I even found €50 on the street :)
Pennies are money, too. And 'blockchain pennies' can be worth a LOT of money one day, just like you said. So let's keep collecting... :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by cstrimel from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.