I watched the world change in my lifetime...

in #life6 years ago

When I was born there was only 1 year of US coins that were dropped from 90% Silver to 40%. Money/Coin still had value in it.

My first bathroom when I was old enough to go was out in the back yard in a little wood shed. Water was hand pumped into the sink in the kitchen, and that was a new thing for Grandma used to be in the yard. Most of the meals was from the land, we grew it and raised it and cut the chickens heads off and collected the eggs and canned in the fall. Interesting sign I saw said: Organic Food - What our grandparents called food. I am a grandpa and it was called food so it is not funny.

The number one prescribed drug to kids when I was young was, Penicillin and 75% of my high school had loaded rifles in the pick up truck racks and no one ever shot anyone. Today the number one prescription for 3-5 year olds is Anti-Depressants and kids are shooting up schools (sometimes).

My first phone had a woman that asked who you wanted when you picked it up and had no dialing numbers, then we got a party line. This meant we shared a phone with all the neighbors and had to beg the 16 year old girl down the block to get off the phone so you could use it. No call waiting, no call forwarding hell you had to take film into little huts or pharmacies and wait 4 weeks to get them back.

I remember farmers coming into town and walking into the bank and stores with a six shooter on his hip like they were Billy the Kid. No one said a word, not even in the banks because no one was there to steal or hurt others.

I could go on for hours on the differences like staying outside and playing not using a TV or Game Console or cell phone. Worst thing a parent can do to a kid is public school them and let them watch TV or have access to the internet before they are 18.

They say you can never go back and that is probably the saddest part of it all, where are we headed if this is where we went to in 50 years?

GOD SAVE THE PEOPLE FROM THEMSELVES!