Word of the day “Small” - The Smallest Acts Can Be The Most Rewarding When Recognized

in #life6 years ago

https://s3.us-east-2.amazonaws.com/partiko.io/img/d00k13-word-of-the-day-small--the-smallest-acts-can-be-the-most-rewarding-when-recognizedgo32axyd-1535990634263.png

At many points in life I feel as if I am trucking along like a horse with blinders on only paying attention to the path in front of me. I am a workhorse, I do the job, I get food and rest, and at the end of the day I can feel proud of a job well done. Simple things such as the caress of my handler‘s hand through my hair, using a tone of compassion rather than anxiety when instructing me, watching my back when leading me to water all seemingly small things but have an impact on the sense of reward I feel at the end of the day. I know you appreciate me by these small acts and since I cannot understand your language I must recognize it for my own satisfaction.

I find many people don’t think this way, yes they have blinders on, yes they are doing the job but no they do not recognize the small things. Like in the image above with this enormous snail representing the impact “small things” can have it is out of focus and only the path ahead has detail. Why did I pick up the snail? It was heading straight towards the path where it could very well have been stepped on, luckily it was already on the leaf. I relocated this “small thing” and hopefully it’s new location is “recognizable”, see where I am going with this? Often people need to have help recognizing all the little day to day situations which can have grand affects on life later down the road. In doing this for others you will also become aware of these “small things” which would have otherwise gone unnoticed.

Some call this the “Butterfly Effect” and here is the video that sparked my idea late last night

In this video he talks about how the queen having a disease resulted in war, a search for a cure to addiction resulted in further addiction and a few others. I started thinking about all the other things, the other end of the spectrum, how something as simple as a smile can evolve into a not so “small thing”.

If I pickup that $20 bill will it no longer land in the hands of a homeless man whom could eat a warm meal and most likely get a alcoholic drink to comfort him through the night? I watched this happen once, I waited to see who would pick it up and the homeless man even came to check if it was mine before treating himself. His smile and joy of the find combined with his concern for its ownership even though being in a place of need sparked a whole line of questioning within myself.

Why do the people in need freely give help whilst those who are in a place of helping do nothing or freely take. I was downtown searching for my buddy Ryan trying to get him off the streets, this “small thing” by someone I may never see again is burned into my minds eye.

I was well dressed to be in that part of town and this dude whom I was glad found the cash offered it to me, if I was a dishonest man I would have taken it and still he most likely would have had a smile on his face for a job well done!

That simple act has changed my outlook towards the homeless, some are happy in their lives more then many of us whom 9-5 could ever be. They have no choice like a workhorse but to recognize the “small things” in life and to be appreciative no matter the outcome even if required to relocate that “small thing” to a place more “recognizable”.

Let me know your thoughts in the comments below!!!

Thats it @d00k13 OUT

Join Us #OneLoveDtube Discord Server

Join The #OneLoveDTube Curation Trail, Earn Rewards!

Check Out Partiko Discord Server

Posted using Partiko iOS