A little speed hump, and SCRUM in your home

in #life6 years ago

A little speed bump along the way

Things were a bit rough today, because last night was a late one and this morning was an early one. I ran a few errands today which forced me to live will 2 hours shy of my 8 hours. I do not know about you, but on 6 hours of sleep I am a wreck, especially considering that there was no time for breakfast, nor lunch and the electricity tripped which ruined my bread that I was baking. With all of this some good news came. 

What I am seeing though is that my steemit account is growing and I want to thank each and everyone of you for your attention. I am not writing much tonight as I actually have to prepare for a last minute catering gig that I got for sunday, and it will be running over the next five weeks. The  income I get from that is going to jumpstart my year as I will have enough to get a shopify store off of the ground. For now I am going to dropship and I think I am going to commit 20% of the profits from that shop here into my steemit account so that I can show support for the community. This is just me spitballing with my optimistic dreams, so this is something I am going to have to keep you posted on as there are developments. 

I will put another double feature in tomorrow where we will dive deeper into the Book of Five Rings and I will be exploring the aspects of the SCRUM framework that you can use in order to build  continuous learning into your workflow. But I cannot just use this post as an announcement platform. Let me hit you with another Drive-by 

SCRUM your family life

I find family life a bit complicated at the moment, ever since I decided to sink most of my time into steemit the burden of household management has been placed on me and I am very good at tunnel vision. Now I need to formulate a strategy in order to ensure the things that have to be done around the house are done in a timely manner, not only that but that everybody carries their own weight. Nothing is more frustrating that having every single thing lay ontop of your shoulders while everybody else is binge watching Grey's Anatomy. 

So how do I go about this without pissing everybody off and causing that apple cart to burst into flames amidst a mutiny? 

1) Choose a sprint length, in life a week is a good measure. so we stick with a week

2) planning, ect ? not really that important a trello kanban board will do: ToDo -> Doing -> Done 

3) Review, Stand ups and Retrospectives?  There is no need to formalise this too much, there is a weekly review on fridays that has a formal smell to it. while the good ol' dinner table does the job of keeping the day-to-day stuff in check

What is very important is that some form of understanding around quality and the rules should be common, and then the Kaizen aspect is to form an increasing solidification of these rules. I am going to suggest this approach tomorrow, so that the chaos inside my home can be turned into serenity. If you have similar problems, why not try putting a simple implementation of SCRUM into action to see how it works?