Broke Graduate | Discovering Digital Currencies

in #life6 years ago (edited)

graduate-now-what.jpg

When I left high school like many others I thought strongly and anxiously how to answer that million dollar question. What do you want to do for the rest of your life?

Now about a decade later along countless millennials I still find myself faced with the same series of questions. Despite having a nice diploma from a good university the truth becomes more evident as the years go by that making money and making a meaningful contribution are not one in the same. Sometime I get flash memories of staring into the eyes of my fellow students peers that fateful graduation day and recalling nothing but blank stares. Perhaps even a few panic attacks about the corporate hunger games that laid before us all.

Like most hopeful recent grads I scurried to snatch up the first survival job I could land to have something I could stamp "success" on . As you can guess the first few were about as uneventful and dead end as it could possibly get. Suddenly out of the blue, as if awakening from dream, I quit those jobs and just remember thinking that "enough is enough". I can never seem to recall if it was the smell of 2 day old floor cleaning solution or the local verbally abusive prostitutes ambushing my restaurant on the daily that brought about this enlightenment. That said, I think by now you can see where I'm coming from and where my head was at when I accepted a role to work for a major university in higher education.

It was if I was a Jedi P.O.W newly released and looking to take up membership with the Sith for survival. I could imagine no greater irony the universe could have dished out, seriously. No matter how conflicted I was it only took seeing that first check and paying my rent on time to put all my fears and woes about becoming a corporate drone into a box. A box I would not open again for several more years as the world slowly turned more conscious. In the meantime I proceeded to commit to making this new life all it could be with no regard for the long-term repercussions of my exuberant and occasionally materialistic ways. "If I knew what I know now" is a popular thing we like to say..right? But let me begin by simply saying, I'm genuinely impressed how quickly my finances got out of hand.

DISCOVERING DIGITAL CURRENCIES |

Now I'm by no means claiming anyone should in-debt themselves further and start spending the remains of their life saving on speculative digital assets. However what I am preaching is the potential to be financially solvent again by doing careful research and looking beyond the fear and short-term survival mentality we've all been plagued and programmed with. As it stands today I hold around 57k in debt between credits cards, personal loans, school loans. My car is an 8 year old Kia and I do all that I can to live within my means and in some instances as a result of the amount of debt that plagues me.

What you need to know is that this is not a tale of tragedy but in fact one of opportunity because for several years following my graduation I was in search for a viable vehicle to help pivot my financial future. I tried stocks, 401k, Index funds and though I still highly recommend remaining diversified across a multitude of different investments those simply were not going to do. If I wanted real potential financial prosperity in a respectable fashion that wouldn't come like a life raft long after I've already drowned. Thus enters bitcoin and cryptocurrencies into my life and before you know it I was off to the race learning as much I could as often as I could.

Personally I don't recommend anyone going all in on anything be it start-up or blue chip but this is crypto and "FOMO" isn't just a way of life it spreads like ebola. Be cautious always and always be certain your intentions are practical and honest. If you are in this to make a 100x return in a week you're better off cashing out your fiat and heading to Vegas. However if you are like me and see this as part of a long term play, are willing to live within your means and stay up to date with the markets. I can say with confidence the future looks pretty bright for you!

Sort:  

@danielerazo, I gave you an upvote on your post! Please give me a follow and I will give you a follow in return and possible future votes!

Thank you in advance!