Meet the Maasai people

in #life7 years ago

Hi I'm Danny! I'm travelling around the world! Follow me.

15138418_10154295905528305_7821056898686099414_o.jpg

DannyBany2.png


I'm staying in one of the many wildlife conservancies that border the Maasai Mara national reserve in Kenya. For the next couple weeks I'm going to try and post each evening from The Naboisho Conservancy.


The Maasai People

Today we were working on a partnership with the Koiyaki Guiding School. The Maasai people are very comfortable working as cattle herders - they are not necessarily hunters and they don't have much knowledge of the wildlife - this school helps them learn.

15156846_10154295895448305_4749995730622581192_o.jpg

The students that came on todays game drive with us get to learn about the wildlife, but also how to interact with us white western volunteers. This new experience and cultural exchange is important if they'd like to work in the tourism industry in the future. Our head guide on the volunteer project came from the very school we were now working at.

The Maasai don't have a lot of choices - you either heard cattle or work in safari tourism. Given that a number of them don't speak English, they really don't have a chance without this school.


15194358_10154295894333305_7055036871312814147_o.jpg

Through this initiative we can teach the Maasai the value of the wildlife. As I mentioned in my last post it's common for the Maasai to poison carcasses, we are trying to teach them that the lion itself also has a direct monetary value linked to tourism.



15128857_10154295905728305_7817859350436612590_o.jpg

This young Maasai doesn't speak English or Swahili ( the second national language of Kenya). He speaks Maasai.


Follow me here and check out my old posts!

Bonito's beautiful waters

The 2000 year old sinkhole | Underground Cave Diving | Untouched Blue Caves | Floating Down the River | Ziplines into crystal clear water | Bonito is absolutely Stunning | 50 SBD Giveaway!

Columbia & Trekking to the hidden city

First thoughts about Columbia | Trekking to the hidden city (Day 2) | Day 3 | Day 4 | Day 5 | Trekking to the hidden city (50 SBD Giveaway!)

The Pantanal Wetlands and Wildlife

My Trip to The Pantanal | Swimming With Caiman | Giant Guinea Pigs | Photographing Blue Macaws | We got attacked my Howler Monkeys! | 50 SBD Giveaway

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing.

WOW wonderful, your shots give me real emotions. thank you for sharing.

Great post

That light! Really lovely photos. We're happy to follow you on your adventures @dannystravels

Great information and pictures!

Great post!
I'll continue to read your blog! :)

Maasai people seem great! Upvoted.

Great photos. I didn't know about your profile, followed. I like the idea that you travel to wild places, not very popular one.

Its amazing to see people from so many different cultures and parts of the world.

Very interesting. Thanks for sharing what do you mean poison carcasses though?

Nice to see a post about my country. The pictures are amazing and your education project is a blessing to the Maasai people. At least they get to learn on the importance of wildlife and how to co-exist with them. I wish you success and happy stay in Kenya. Thank you for sharing :)

Awesome adventure! It is really a great feeling when you are upclose and personal to mother nature @dannystravel 😊. Upvoted and followed you now 😉. Please do check my post too if you have time 😉.

Upvoted. I'm going to resteem this now :)

I appreciate the work your doing.

Hats off to you sir!! Keep Steeming on your journey!

Thanks for sharing

You are like Indiana Jones of Steemit :-)

Amazing you are doing well mate! Thank you for sharing with us.

I met Maasai people in Tanzania before, they look pretty cool, and they have really good looking.

Love the pictures and seems a very interesting life you have, thank you for sharing.

Un poco mas de contenido seria genial

Nice to know about how other people live, thanks for post :)

Maasai people teaching us how they make fire. 👍 👍 😍

This is incredible! I'm too scared for these adventures, but glad you are posting pics so I can live vicariously through you!

I'm super excited to see your travels! Followed! Thanks for sharing! 🙏🏼❤️✌🏼🌎

This post received a 3.0% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @dannystravels! For more information, click here!

Hey @dannystravels! This is GREAT! Can't wait to see more from you. You are definitely getting a follow from me! Let's keep spreading the word together around the world! ~ Lauren - @travelingartgal

Hello Danny,
Briefly about me: my name is Lucie and I love to travel as well. I am on 3 month roundtrip in our minivan. We went to Alaska, Canada and now we are in California. We are mostly hiking and backpacking. If you are interested in nature feel free to visit my account.
I ve never been to Kenya Thats why I am so Happy that you are here. I would like to ask you if you could write us also some blog post about landscape and safety as I dont know much about it. I always mostly saw magazine pictures which are mostly from the most turistic places.
I upvoted you and followed you.
With love, Lucie

nice photo

nicely done.. awesome to travel to far places. great shots

is it in africa?

Ayyyy my people! Apparently, this is the tribe my ancestors come from :) Love your posts, thanks for sharing

Hi Danny, nice work there, and I hope you enjoy your travels. Check out my blogs aswell of the beautiful resorts scattered over Africa. I am new here so I would really appreciate your support! https://steemit.com/travel/@charlemagne/steem-a-zambezi-river-lodge-blog-post-2

Great post.informative and well organized.
Love those pictures. this pictures added a twist in this post .

These pictures are so cool

I like the Happiness in his Face. You have a great feeling to make awesome Pictures.

You have amazing shots of life and the realities of it. Thank you for sharing.

Upped, Steemed and Following