The Moon

in #life2 years ago

telescope moon 1.JPG

Craters of the Moon

The main reason I got into photography was through my work as an astronomy guide. Lucky to have access to a large telescope capable of seeing distant galaxies, I thought it would be a waste not to learn photography to see how much more I can find in the cosmos.

I searched online for the right adapter (t-ring) to attach my Nikon Z50 to the telescope I use in the Explora Hotel Observatory. Essentially, if you attach a DSLR or mirrorless camera to any telescope you are using the telescope as a lens. In my case the lens was pretty big! I had taken a few shots of the milky way already using long exposures with my tripod but this was a whole different type of photography.

telescope moon 2.jpg

The moon was formed from a planet the size of mars crashing into earth billions of years ago

Firstly you don't have aperture to deal with because as soon as you swop your lens for the telescope it takes that element away. So using a telescope is all about shutter speed and ISO. I thought I'd start of by photographing our closest celestial object....the moon.