Remembering my first ever Spartan Race - Super!

in #life6 years ago

12047518_714650195345989_1995925251_n.jpg

It was end of summer 2015

when I signed up for my first ever Spartan Race. It was also my first ever OCR. I was not a runner, nor I had a great upper body strength. What I had was hunger and curiosity. Hunger for new adventures in life and curiosity about what I can do.

Sprint, Super or Beast? I had to decide which race will I sign up for as my first race. I found out the differences between the three races were mainly the distance and number of obstacles. I had 4 weeks to train. I never ran more than 2km at a time. I had no idea what to expect and after some deep thoughts, I decided that I will trully challenge myself and I will run the "harder" distance - the Super.

Sprint, which starts from 5km would surely be challenging, but would it be challenging enough? At that time I thought could just dream about the Beast which is a half marathon distance with loads of obstacles. Super which was from 12km was the answer.

12042807_712830975527911_9175900492292104987_n.jpg

So I made a little research and I began training. With only 4 weeks left I focused on my biggest weaknesses which was my upper body strength, running and burpees. I used my little boys, who were then aged 2 and 3 years, as my weights. (Who needs to go to the gym when you have kids at home?) I slowly upped my distance to 5km running with a buggy, but that was about it. My ultimate goal was to finish this race. No matter how fast or slow will I run or how many burpees I will need to perform, I just wanted to get to the finish line.

The race day arrived and I was super nervous. I hardly had any sleep. But I was excited. I met some new fellow spartans which made me feel very welcome and very quickly made new friends. I will never forget how nervous I felt when I got to the start line! I was shaking! Quick warm up, shouted few AROOs and off we went!

12063702_712830948861247_5673452873441518302_n.jpg

I pushed myself the hardest I could. I found something in me that I never knew about and it was my hunger for competitiveness! I found my pace and even thought I was not the fastest, it was a good pace I could sustain for longer periods. Oh yes I did fail many obstacles. I did so many burpees too! Every burpee I counted I knew this is helping me to get stronger so I enjoyed doing them.

I surprised myself when I found my second breath, after I thought I can't go any longer. I reached about three quarters of the race and there were a few racers overtaking me. I had none of it! You should see me how fast I sprinted through the forest, jumping and doing all sorts of ninja moves between the bushes, trees and branches! I felt like a badass.

12071320_714651355345873_1820174611_n.jpg

When I finally reached the finish line, Wow! What a feeling! I finished the race! I proudly accepted my medal and T shirt and I was the most buzzing bee around the field that day. When I checked my results later on, I found out I placed 3rd in my age category and 9th out of all females who ran that day! I could not believe it! 9th female out of some odd 900?

The amount of positive energy I had after finishing, I knew I need to run the Beast the next week! (I know, crazy right!) There. Signed up. Yes it was challenging. Yes it was hard. But I did it. I did it! And I was proud to find my new love for amazing sport and a new family of most fantastic and supportive people I could possibly wish for.

For all you Super People, Super Heroes, Super Mums, Super Dads
Don't be satisfied with just Sprint. Be hungry for more. Go Super! Because you are Super! Next level: Beast.

AROO!

Dashee
Spartan Race Ambassador

dashfitsteemitlogoverified.png

12067979_713438252133850_240812273_n.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations on your well-deserved win, I laughed when you said you used your kids as weight bars, they must be lucky to have you has a mum.

I loved your story and found myself cheering you halfway through, Good read :-)

Thank you so much for your feedback! I will do my best to write more entertaining stories! :)

Congratulations @dashfit! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @dashfit! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulation dear..This sport is very difficult ..Carry on dear

Thank you! This year will be awesome!

This post has received a 5.56 % upvote from @chronocrypto thanks to: @dashfit.

This post has received a 33% upvote from spotlight thanks to: @resteemable.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

You got a 6.62% upvote from @mercurybot courtesy of @dashfit!

Congratulations @dashfit! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

You look very good! congratulations on that medal!

Thank you! 😊

You got a 33.83% upvote from @redlambo courtesy of @dashfit! Make sure to use tag #redlambo to be considered for the curation post!

This post has received a 3.80% upvote from @aksdwi thanks to: @dashfit.

You got a 40.00% upvote from @steembloggers courtesy of @dashfit!

Congratulations @dashfit! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

You got a 44.44% upvote from @whalebuilder courtesy of @dashfit. Join @whalebuilder family at our Discord Channel. Don't let your precious stake(SP) go stale...Make it do more so you have to do less. Deligate it to @whalebuilder by clicking on one of the ready to delegate links: 50SP | 100SP | 250SP | 500SP | 1000SP | 5000SP | custom amount.

You just rose by 77.6197% upvote from @therising courtesy of @dashfit. Earn 43.8% APR by delegating SP to therising. For more details visit: https://steemit.com/budget/@therising/auto-daily-payout-of-43-8-apr-for-steem-power-delegations-starting-from-500-sp-only-limited-period-offer.

@dashfit Congratulations! This post has been chosen to be featured in THE RED LAMBO PIT STOP. Check out the post here.

Keep on providing excellent content for the Steemit community and use #redlambo for another chance to be featured.

~ @redlambo
"Lamboing your content to the moon!"

Congratulations @dashfit! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @dashfit! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @dashfit! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Congratulations @dashfit! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @dashfit! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @dashfit! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @dashfit! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @dashfit! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @dashfit! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Quarter Finals - Day 2


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @dashfit! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @dashfit! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!