You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [dtube] Why I'm Renting Instead of Buying a House | Renting VS Buying Discussion

in #life6 years ago

I own because it is cheaper than renting. If you are renting you are paying the owner the same amount to pay their mortgage as well as an amount that gives them profit. If interest rates go up, rent is going to go up too. It is scary to tie yourself to a 20-30 year loan, but you can still sell before that time is complete. Part of the process in selecting my house was finding one that would be easy to resale if needed. I also think its a better investment with your money. Rather than giving someone money for rent, you are paying that amount towards your home. I think of it as a savings account that I can cash out when I sell. I imagine things are different in the states, but we have programs that make it affordable for first time home owners, so they don't have to pay huge amounts for down payments and sometimes nothing at all (FHA and USDA loans). That means I was able to keep my money invested in crypto and stocks.