Healthy Like Win "Iceman" Hof

in #life7 years ago

This week’s edition of Healthy Like features the “Iceman” Win Hof.

nI9j_hwB_400x400.jpg

This man has world records of all kinds that show off the power and ability of the human body. He has pulled off accomplishments thought to be impossible by man and then some.

There are 2 habits and teachings that I believe are the most important to his success. However, before I explain what those are, I would like to stress how much your mindset plays a role in what you are physically capable of. This is Win Hof’s motto – basically what he lives by.

I know the benefits of mindfullness first-hand. If I go to work out and tell myself last week I did 8 repetitions of chest press at 210 pounds, I would simply be able to do 8 reps that day. But, if I convinced myself I got stronger since last week and that I could do more, suddenly I would be hitting 10-11 reps at that same weight. If you don’t push yourself to believe you can do more, you won’t ever actually do more.

Win Hof’s lessons:

Importance of controlling your breathing

Getting into higher states of performance can be as easily attainable by slowing down your breathing and consciously thinking about the process. This will help you focus and reach a more relaxed state. From personal experience, running long distances or lifting heavy weights, I’ve noticed that when I can control my breathing technique, I’ve run longer and lifted more. Breathing is key!

Getting accustomed to both extremes cold and hot routinely

There are many benefits of exposure either to extreme cold or heat for short periods of times. Win Hof goes to the absolute extreme by hiking in freezing weather wearing nothing but shorts and shoes but for us normal folk, taking an ice cold shower for a few minutes or hitting the sauna a couple times a week can be beneficial to our long-term and short-term health. There have even been studies showing that you can benefit from going from one extreme to the other (heat to cold or vice versa). I suggest if you would like to know more about he science behind it (more technical), that you look at the work done by Rhonda Patrick, PhD.

These 2 lessons both can be easily integrated into our normal lives and have proven benefits! Therefore, I suggest everyone take some time to look into adding these practices into their daily/weekly routines.

Thanks for the taking the time,

David

Sort:  

Congratulations @davidoss! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!