"This Week in" - Decision-Making

in #life7 years ago

This week’s post is going to be slightly different than usual.

This week I’ve had multiple big decisions that I had to make mainly ones that involved several other people.

DecisionMaking.jpg

In these cases, it can be easy to let other people’s interests and feelings blind you and back you into a corner. Although you can rationalize why that corner is actually a good decision (as it is what your friends/family want), it really should not be considered unless you are actually indifferent.

You, and only you, are going to look after what you truly want.

Only after you have figured out what you want, then can you attempt to allow yourself to help others. This can seem selfish to some readers, and yes I agree, but it is important to be self-interested. It is also important to balance selflessness and selfishness as you cannot give unless you have and you do not have unless you do not give it all away.

570095265d994-full.jpeg

These insights were ones that I had to use this past week and although I didn’t always feel amazing about my decisions (as some people had to get left out or did not get exactly what they wanted), I knew that they were the best ones I could make.

Hope this helps anyone else,

David