You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Does Poverty Exist?

in #life7 years ago

Poverty is the manifestation of humanity's ongoing animal nature. At base we are still apes scrounging the forest floor for our share. The day we evolve past that is the day poverty disappears.

Sort:  

@dber The more I think about your comment, the more I tend to agree with it. When given the choice, most people choose what's good for one (him or herself) over what's good for everyone collectively.

I feel badly - I don't mean to reinforce cynicism -but i do feel that way, on the whole, about masses of people.

Having said that individuals do surprise and are capable of being extraordinarily kind

It's hard not to feel cynical when that's mostly what you see people doing.

Yes, there are exceptions, but they're just that - exceptions.

I do feel confident there is a slow awakening happening, however.