You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The success and growth of Steemit - My perspective on how we get there

in #life6 years ago

While I disagree with bringing in the thousands (yet), the post was great!

The reason I disagree is this (and I may be wrong): with Steemit only generating a set amount of new STEEM on an annual basis, a huge influx of possible content creators dilutes the Reward Pool.

As a real-world-type example, if you have a family of 2 that makes $200,000 annually (I wish I made that much) they could buy cars and pay for extravagances. Continue on as the next year they have twins while the pay increases 10% to $220,000... they would still be able to live a great life. Now the next year there is trouble with their family and 12 people move into the house and have no income, while they still have the same $20,000 increase up to $240,000 in the year. This is where they need to begin to take the top off of their extravagant spending, but they'd still have a good life. Ok, here's going to the absurd (to relate it to the Steemit influx). What if 10,000 people suddenly moved in without any extra income (ignore the physics of spacial limitations) while they still only gain $20,000 for the yearly total of $260,000 now. That means that there are either a great deal of people with a great deal less spread out evenly or there's a great deal that are getting nothing while the top "trickles down". Not looking good here; and that's why I'm hesitant on a great influx of Steemians.

Sort:  

Thank you for checking my post and leaving a comment :)
Your point is interesting and I have to think about it more but, the rise of steem value with many new users might fix the problem you are talking about? especially when more people would buy steem and steempower?
Maybe I did not understand you correctly, the amount of steem is a set amount but, the value isn't and steem can be divided. As value increase, the volume of the transactions will also increase. I'm not saying it will be easier for minnows to shine but it will probably never be easy. Being a content creator is not easy as it sounds.
Like with every economy (or everything), there will be a certain distribution of rewards and success.
Thank you for the comment again!

That's true, it will not be easy, but I just wonder at that point that I made.