Writing tips are useless without this...

in #life5 years ago

thought-catalog-547187-unsplash.jpg

Writing tips are useless without this...

Let me apologize to you for having such a cliche title. I hate those myself and here I am pushing one on to you. It's not even part of the article here, well it could be I suppose....

This will not be yet another list of how to's of the writing world. No X words in a quarter hour. No write first and edit second (although that's one of my favorite ones) I'm not even going to hit you with a classic line of "There are no rules." That is for you to decide.

The most well intention writing tips in the world are useless without the secret magical ingredient that is the most important part of creating and accomplishing what ever you want in life.
more important then consistency...
Discipline.

"Discipline Equals Freedom," - Jocko Wilink

I taped that quote to my computer right next to David Goggins "Embrace the Suck" and Tony Robbins "Raise your Standards"

The word Disciple may conjure up images of the military or nightmares of an evil principal lecturing a student on the important of having discipline in their lives (the only D you should have is in Discipline) and how they will end up as a bum if they continue their slacker ways. Or maybe a prison warden ruling over his inmates poses a better image?

What good is it to know that you should write every day if you don’t hold yourself to it? or have a daily word goal if you never meet it? or be consistent when your always inconsistant?

I'm not preaching here. I'm not that disciplened but I want to be. Teaching and sharing is a good way to remind myself and to hold myself more accountable.

I need that in my life if I am to write more and to build up more of a following here so i can share more and reach more and well you get the idea.