Life lessons

in #life3 years ago

Hello 🌼

I hope you are doing very well.

Last September 21, my grandmother, if she were alive, would have been 79 years old. On that day, our local priest celebrated a mass in memory of my grandmother and other deceased. The mass was attended by my little cousin, my aunt, Adam, and myself, from that day I can remember how hot it was, how few people were in the church, and realize a lesson that life taught me.

El pasado 21 de septiembre, mi abuela, si estuviera viva, habría cumplido 79 años. Ese día, nuestro cura local celebró una misa en memoria de mi abuela y de otros difuntos. A la misa asistimos mi primo pequeño, mi tía, Adam, y yo, de ese día puedo recordar el calor que hacía, la poca gente que había en la iglesia, y darme cuenta de una lección que me dio la vida.

img_0.9086415628982758.jpg

When my grandmother died it was all very confusing, I usually have a hard time taking things in quickly. I guess I still can't believe it and I find it hard to understand how such a strong person like her could go like that. She was my definition of strength.

I'd like to clarify that this post is not meant to generate pity or negative feelings but quite the opposite, I feel that she finally got to be at peace even though there was a void left in us.

When I started to assimilate a little more her leaving, one of the things that hurt me was all the things I wanted to do with her and couldn't, all the stories she didn't have the chance to tell me because lately, I had been busier than ever. She didn't like to show her face on pictures, so one day I thought about taking some photos of her hands unfortunately, it was something I kept putting off until it became something I never did.

Cuando murió mi abuela fue todo muy confuso, normalmente me cuesta asimilar las cosas rápidamente. Creo que todavía no me lo puedo creer y me cuesta entender cómo una persona tan fuerte como ella pudo irse así. Ella era mi definición de fuerza.

Me gustaría aclarar que este post no pretende generar lástima o sentimientos negativos sino todo lo contrario, siento que ella por fin pudo estar en paz aunque quedó un vacío en nosotros.

Cuando empecé a asimilar un poco más su marcha, una de las cosas que me dolió fue todo lo que quería hacer con ella y no podía, todas las historias que no tuvo la oportunidad de contarme porque últimamente había estado más ocupada que nunca. A ella no le gustaba que le hicieran fotos, así que un día se me ocurrió fotografiar sus manos, desgraciadamente, fue algo que fui posponiendo hasta que se convirtió en algo que nunca hice.

img_0.046547701339771014.jpg

Why photograph her hands?

Because if there was one thing that defined her, besides being the strongest woman I have ever known, it was how hardworking she always was. She was a teacher by profession, but to get her three children ahead, she was also a laundress, knitted clothes, made tablecloths, embroidered, baked, designed parchment cards, and was also, or was known as, an excellent administrator and treasurer of impeccable reputation. In this way, she built one of the largest houses in my neighborhood. She cared for her mother, her siblings, her siblings' children, and even her grandchildren and great-grandchildren. If there was one thing that represented her history, it was her hands.

¿Por qué fotografiar sus manos?

Porque si algo la definía, además de ser la mujer más fuerte que he conocido, era lo trabajadora que fue. Era maestra de profesión, pero para sacar a sus tres hijos adelante, también fue lavandera, tejió ropa, hizo manteles, bordó, horneó, diseñó tarjetas de pergamino, y también fue, o fue conocida, como una excelente administradora y tesorera de impecable reputación. De este modo, construyó una de las casas más grandes de mi barrio. Cuidó de su madre, de sus hermanos, de los hijos de sus hermanos e incluso de sus nietos y bisnietos. Si algo representaba su historia, eran sus manos.

img_0.8781956674431648.jpg

Over the years, her hands stopped working as they once did due to the osteoarthritis she suffered from. She saw it as something shameful and I saw it as something that filled me with pride as I remembered all that she had done and accomplished. Her hands were to be a symbol of strength, pride, devotion, and inspiration.

Unfortunately, as I said before, I kept putting off those photos day after day until it was impossible for me to do so. His departure taught me not to put off what I can do right now, to express what I feel, and, more than ever, to be true to my beliefs and convictions. Living is a matter of the present, not the past, and not the future. The only thing we are assured of is the now.

Con los años, sus manos dejaron de funcionar como antes debido a la artrosis que padecía. Ella lo veía como algo vergonzoso y yo lo veía como algo que me llenaba de orgullo al recordar todo lo que había hecho y logrado. Sus manos debían ser un símbolo de fuerza, orgullo, devoción e inspiración.

Desgraciadamente, como dije antes, fui posponiendo esas fotos día tras día hasta que me fue imposible hacerlo. Su partida me enseñó a no postergar lo que puedo hacer en este momento, a expresar lo que siento y, más que nunca, a ser fiel a mis creencias y convicciones. Vivir es una cuestión del presente, no del pasado, ni del futuro. Lo único que tenemos asegurado es el ahora.

img_0.5439562084582228.jpg

Thanks a million for stopping by.

Lots of love,

W.


Photos of my authorship | Dividers designed on Logopit Plus | Footer & thumbnail Designed on Canva


img_0.2422056562807664.jpg

Sort:  

Definitivamente querida Dearw, la muerte es muy dolorosa para los que quedamos de este lado y debemos continuar, porque aunque estemos consciente de que va a pasar no estamos preparados.
Te quedan las enseñanzas, el amor recibido y el aprendizaje.
Recordar a nuestros abuelos honra nuestra existencia y nos permite liberar algunas tensiones. Te envío un fuerte abrazo.
Buena vibra.

Muchas gracias Ange 🌼✨

Amiga querida, que duro esos procesos de duelo, se que tenías profunda admiración y amor por tu abuelita espero que dónde se encuentra este feliz y en paz.
Te abrazo desde acá.🤗

Gracias Made 🌼✨