Behave as a child of God ALWAYS?

in #life8 years ago

The preachers sermon today was on prayer. He broke it down so as to explain in depth what prayer is and how one should go about praying in the correct manner. In doing so, he spoke on how one should behave in the presence of others. He said our behavior, our speech, and our overall mannerisms should be the same when we are alone as when in the presence of others. I took notes, but I wont go into the details of the broken down lessons of prayer at this time. I have said this much to tell another story.

After church service was over my grandson had to visit the restroom. He is 10 years old and has cerebral palsy and sometimes needs assistance, so I walked with him to stand outside the bathroom door in the event he might need my help. As I stood across the narrow hall from the men”s room door I was hidden from a hallway going past me on my left.Another hallway meets that one and goes to the outside of the church.Standing in silence so I could hear my nephew call if I was needed, I heard a lady”s voice. It was faint at first and I couldn't make her words out enough to understand them. The sound of her voice grew louder as she passed me on my left. The other end of this hallway leads to the inside of the church to the pews. I caught a glimpse of her as she passed . This entire time I remained silent and seemingly invisible. The lady muttered to herself as she passed by in an aggravated voice that she would just go sit alone and wait once again. Her walk was fast paced and determined as she disappeared into the church. This incident made me start to think about the preachers sermon. Should this lady have walked gracefully into the church and sat down without muttering a word? She did not know that I had heard her or seen her. But, I did. I know who she is: I know who her husband is that apparently from her words: leaves her sitting alone , . I wondered then if he knows the anger, or aggravation he causes her. I wonder if she is lonely? Now that I have witnessed this , I see both of them differently.

I once saw them as a loving , togetherness type couple. Now, I think: Uh oh trouble in paradise over there. Inside the church as service was going on these two sat together lovingly and he said Amen, and praised God out loud to the same sermon I told you about earlier. She smiled and went along with him. A few minutes after church was dismissed, this sweet beautiful lady was tromping down the halls of the church aggravated and alone. Did I witness this for a reason? Was this an example from God to show me how not to act?

Yes, according to the previous sermon. I think now: if this lady can’t hold it together God: in all of her wisdom and the outstanding wisdom of her husband: how do you expect me to do so? I know when I am absolutely alone is when I sing, shout, cry, gripe of aggravations myself. Am I wrong for doing so? What if in my pain or anger I said something to make another look at me as fake? As not having it all together? Did I get confused from this sermon or is God teaching me a valuable lesson on how to behave as a child of God ALWAYS?

#pray
#love
#god
#church