We caught a mess of fish, frying them up for supper...

in #life8 years ago

My son and grandson came into town today and we decided to go fishing for a little while. I dug me some worms from the woods behind my house and we were on our way!
My grandson Jay's fiancé, Skylar @spiper20, caught the first fish! It was a small largemouth bass.

Jay @jpiper20 caught one just a short time later, just a bit bigger. It will filet up nicely!

Just as I was taking Jay's picture, I hear splashing and my son Tommy @pipertomcat lands the biggest one yet!

They all are using lures and catching the bass. I'm not having too much luck using a green beetle spin(lure). Then I remember my worms I dug from the branch, so I put on a bobber and a wiggler and almost instantly caught a huge bluegill! Over two hours, I caught 5 more! We threw the small ones back to grow and I kept enough for my wife and I as the kids had to return to Savannah and couldn't stay for supper.

I gutted them,then scaled them with a butter knife and filleted the large bass that Tommy and Jay caught.battered them up in seasoned cornmeal and fried them up for my wife and I. My wife cut up potatoes for home fries and made some hush puppy batter.

Then I fried the fries, hush puppies,then the and bass and bream in hot peanut oil using a cast-iron skillet until they were nice and crispy golden brown. This only took few minutes.

To eat the bream, we had to gently scrape the fish away from the bones. We had to be careful eating the bream because the bones are quite tiny, but the effort is so worth it. The fins and tails are edible as well and are my favorite part! Everything was so delicious and my belly is happily full!
mmmmm , mmmm ,mmm

Nothing like eating fresh caught fish!

#steem
#fishing
#supper
#photography