From Cradle to Grave

in #life7 years ago (edited)

As my son, who just had his fourth birthday, packed his suitcase for an outing with mum this morning, I had that feeling, once again, that as a society, we are doing things wrong.

Of the numerous toys, new bike, laser pointer and more lego than can fit on our floor (He is having a sister soon, so I may have spoilt him) he received for his birthday celebration, these are the ones he chose to don this morning.

A Gran Knitted Sweater
A hand stitched leather school bag made by his godfather
And a magical fucking wizard staff made by one of the better humans I know

Now, what got me thinking, was the similarity between these things, and that was, that they were all made with love and that they were all made to last. Something that seems a rarity nowadays, in a world fueled by consumerism and geared towards products with a shelf life about as long as the time between iPhone releases.

As I bundle down this exciting tech-fueled evolution of blockchain technology, I wonder how many similarities can be drawn. Which of these promising technologies, alt-coins and decentralised apps have been made to last, which of them is being developed with love, and subsequently which ones are made to last because, for me, I know that when my son gets old, these presents, made with authenticity, love and passion are the ones I will still own and cherish, and, I am guessing the same will hold true in the world of Crypto.

I am left with a feeling of gratitude for the people in my life living outside of societal norms, the ones making things of lasting and tangible value regardless of whether it increases their bank balance, and most importantly, the thought that it is friends like these that keep me grounded to what is really important in life.

Sort:  

One question ..... Where do i get a magical fucking wizard staff from? I need one in my life 😂

Haha, they are made with a magic potion.

1 X Stick
1 X Crystal
2 X Feathers
1 X Crazy Hippy Friend

Lols, and also funny in the context of education. :-)

Yh unfortunately I was the Balrog when I took my exams lol I certainly did't pass!

Wow, such an amazing and genuine post.
I absolutely loved the last paragraph because I can relate in which I am very thankful for.
You've also captured a beautiful moment with your son.
Happy wonderful 4th birthday to him ♥

Thanks Quaintrelle, I will be sure to pass on the sentiment. :-)

Also, thanks for being probably the only person to see and read this. :-)

You're very welcome!!
I browse through Steemit to find posts EXACTLY like yours.
I enjoy reading the pure genuine stories from other Steemians.
It is a wonderful and positive reminder that Happiness exists everywhere ♥

Congratulations @devonking! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I can definitely relate! In this age of instant gratification and materialism, spoiled kids with short attention span and shorter temper are everywhere. As a mom of an almost 1 year old boy, I'm entering this weird inner battle stage of resorting to ipads and phones to keep him occupied (easy and may I say lazy) vs traditional playtime that involves more imagination and well, more human involvement (ie time-consuming).

Glad you wrote this sweet piece so I know there is hope for a loving and thoughtful generation!

@devonking Loved reading about your lil one. And love the crystal. So you are from Cape Town too. Happy Steaming Dev. Sending you some good vibes :)